Pages Navigation Menu

ST. JEKABA’S CATHEDRAL IN RIGA (LATVIA)

ST. JEKABA'S CATHEDRAL IN RIGA (LATVIA)

ST. JEKABA'S CATHEDRAL IN RIGA (LATVIA)

St. Jekaba’s Cathedral (Jacob’s Cathedral) in Riga was built in the beginning of XIII century and it is the fourth biggest church in Riga. At first, the cathedral was outside the city walls. Several times the cathedral caught on fire; it was restored, rebuilt and expanded. Only the altar remains to this day of the original appearance of the cathedral. In XV century, a clock was put in the cathedral’s tower, the works of which was outside the tower under a kind of a porch. The appearance of the cathedral was changed most significantly in the second half of XVI century. Despite later reconstructions of the cathedral, its original porch has preserved. In 1756, the cathedral underwent its last significant reconstruction; the tower was covered with copper plates. In the cathedral’s tower there used to be the City Bell, which summoned Riga dwellers to the main square when public executions were held. In 1915, the bell was taken down and its traces get lost in Russia. Today St. Jekaba’s Cathedral is the seat of the archbishop of the Catholic Church of Latvia.

St. Jekaba’s Cathedral is a monument of brick Gothic architecture. Throughout several centuries, starting from the period of Swedish dominion and till the end of 1920s, the cathedral was a Lutheran Cathedra Church.

The height of the tower of the church with its spire is 80 meters. In the interior you can find a plant ornament rare to the gothic church sculptural decoration canon, which embellished the capitals on the choirs of the church. The capitals in their turn crown small columns and, in general, such interior components are unusual to Riga’s medieval church architecture.

Originally, the cathedral was of a hall type but at the present, after suffering numerous reconstructions, the cathedral is a three-nave basilica, which reaches the size of 27 by 50 meters in the layout. The tower is located over the central western bay (a niche in the aisle), where the rectangular side chapel is located. On the northern side of the church there is a sacristy. The main church hall (that is, the central nave of the temple) is divided by cross-like vaults of the plafond (and corresponding columns of the same shape) into six equal bays. As for the rest, the interior of the cathedral is quite simple and modest, which matches the concept of designing the décor of catholic religious buildings.

In 1736, upon the spire of the church a traditional weathercock in shape of a rooster was set, which successfully survived till this day.

In 1680, when the cathedral was the main royal Lutheran church, an altar was built, which is believed to be the earliest Baroque altar in Latvia. The authors of this altar are unknown. In 1902, it was decided to dissemble the “obsolete” altar and right after this precious sacred relic was exterminated the builders started to erect a new altar. Masters Christoff Mittelhausen and Jacob Schrade were invited for this purpose and they successfully fulfilled their responsibilities. Of the old altar only carved out figures of angels in Baroque style remained, which are now displayed at the exposition of wooden sculpture in the Museum of Riga’s History and Navigation.

After the interior was rebuilt (due to the change of confession in 1924), the altar was transferred from the center into one of the side-chapels of the church; and in its place another one appeared – the third one in succession. Some time later the old altar created by Christoff Mittelhausen and Jacob Schrade was moved to a catholic church of Mary the Magdalene. Then, in the modern period (in 1997), it was transferred to a newly built catholic church in Ogre, where it adorns its interior up till now.

The pulpit of St. Jekaba’s Cathedral can be rightfully called one of the most remarkable elements of its interior. The pulpit is done in Empire style. The interior of the cathedral is characterized with an intricate mixture of different architectural styles which were dominating in different epochs, while on the outside the church looks relatively uniform. As for the pulpit, it was built of a rare type of mahogany; its surface is covered with intarsia with rich plant ornamentation and elegant arabesques.

In 1761, organ master from Halle Henry Andrew Concius commenced his work to build an organ for the St. Jekaba’s Cathedral. Very soon the organ was finished and generous Lutheran community paid Concius 3400 thalers for the spent labor. To the present day only pleasant reminiscences and a prospect – a striking sample of Rococo style – are left of the first organ. This prospect is done in wood; it was painted and gilded. The new, modern organ was produced by Master E. Martin in 1913.

In 1886, in St. Jekaba’s Cathedral unscheduled restoration works were carried out, which led to discovery of a unique decorative painting under a later layer of whitewash, dating back to XV century. At the present moment the “unveiled” painting serves as a compositional decoration of the interior of the church’s building. In the left aisle of the cathedral one can see a fragment of the original layer of the vault’s painting that was lucky to survive till our day despite all the twists and turns of history, which more than once changed the way the cathedral looked on the inside.

In course of a long term church demolition violence of 1524 most of the cathedral’s treasures of artistic value perished. In the beginning of XX century, it became possible to discover some traces of the early execution of the interior. In 1922, in particular, Crucifixion’s Triumph was discovered, which had been lying in the attic facilities of the cathedral. It is hard to determine the exact time when this exclusive piece of cult of Catholic religion came into existence, but researchers suppose that Crucifixion’s Triumph was created in the period of time from 1380 to 1420. Crucifixion’s Triumph is rightfully considered to be one of the most ancient sculptural works on the territory of Latvia.

The history of church ground burials was affected by the city council’s decision passed in 1773 under influence of Reigning Empress Catherine the Great. According to this decision, to avoid severe epidemics it was necessary to put a ban on burials within church grounds in the city limits. Existing burials had to be taken out of the premises of the city-fortress. Many family crypts in St. Jekaba’s Cathedral as well as in the other churches of Riga were closed and walled with bricks, tombstones and ledgers were thoroughly assessed. Already existing gravestones were covered with a wooden cover, after which the floor of the cathedral was covered also. As for the most valuable and notable tombstones, it was decided to wall them into the church walls; similar picture can be observed in many Gothic churches of Riga. Among those placed in St. Jekaba’s Cathedral, it is worthwhile to mention C. Fet’s tombstone, which dates back to 1464; D. Rummel’s tombstone of 1474 and M. Fisher’s tombstone of 1490.

Much later, during restoration works, which were done in the cathedral in 1983, under the floor an ensemble of grave ledgers – unique one on the territory of Latvia –, was discovered. After scientists scrutinized this ensemble, the floor was covered with sand and on top of it ceramic tile was laid, which serves as the church flooring up to our days.

Stained glass created in XX century is mounted into the windows of St. Jekaba’s Cathedral. In particular, three colorful stained glasses adorning the windows of the eastern side of the choir were executed in 1902 in Modern style. In the same year, the old baroque altar was dissembled and the central window case was “freed” to be decorated with stained glass. When the stained glass windows were created, their author used sacred motif of a vine tree with its twining leaves and hanging down grapes, which traditionally symbolizes Holy Communion.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования

Страницы меню навигации

Собор Святого Екаба в Риге (Латвия)

СОБОР СВЯТОГО ЕКАБА в РИГЕ

СОБОР СВЯТОГО ЕКАБА в РИГЕ

Собор Святого Екаба (Якова) в Риге был построен в начале 13 века и является четвертой по величине церковью Риги. Поначалу собор находился за пределами городских стен. Собор несколько раз горел, восстанавливался, перестраивался и достраивался. От первоначального облика собора до наших дней дошел только алтарь. В 15 веке на башне собора появились часы, механизм которых находился вне башни под своеобразным крыльцом. Самые большие изменения внешнего вида собор претерпел во второй половине 16 века. Несмотря на более поздние перестройки собора, своеобразное крыльцо было сохранено. В 1756 году собор претерпел последние значительные изменения, башню покрыли медными листами. В башне собора когда-то находился городской колокол, который созывал рижан на ратушную площадь во время свершения казней. В 1915 году колокол был снят и следы его исчезают в России. Сегодня собор Святого Екаба является Кафедральным собором архиепископа католической церкви Латвии.

Собор Святого Екаба является памятником кирпичной готики. На протяжении нескольких веков, начиная с периода шведского владычества и заканчивая серединой 20-х годов прошлого века, собор являлся лютеранским кафедральным собором.

Высота башни церкви вместе со шпилем достигает 80 метров. В интерьере можно обнаружить редкий для церковного канона готического скульптурного оформления растительный орнамент, украшающий капители на хорах церкви. Капители, в свою очередь, венчают небольшие колонны, и, в общем, подобные компоненты интерьера необычны для рижской средневековой церковной архитектуры.

Поначалу собор был зального типа, а в настоящее время, пережив многочисленные перестройки, собор представляет собой трёхнефную базилику, которая в плане достигает 27 на 50 метров. Башня расположена над центральной западной травеей (ячейкой бокового нефа), там, где находится прямоугольный алтарный придел. С северной стороны церкви расположена сакристия (ризница). Главный церковный зал (имеется в виду центральный неф храма) разделён крестообразными сводами плафона (и соответствующими им колоннами также крестообразной формы) на шесть одинаковых травей. В остальном интерьер собора довольно прост и скромен, что соответствует концепции оформления убранства католических культовых зданий.

В 1736 году на шпиль башни был возведён традиционный петух-флюгер, который благополучно дожил до наших дней.

В 1680 году, когда собор являлся главной королевской лютеранской церковью, был создан алтарь,  считается, что он является самым ранним барочным алтарём в Латвии. Создатели алтаря неизвестны. В 1902 году было решено разобрать «одряхлевший» алтарь, и сразу же после ликвидации ценной сакральной реликвии строители приступили к возведению нового алтаря. Для этих целей были приглашены мастера Кристоф Миттельхаузен и Якоб Шраде, которые успешно справились с возложенными на них обязанностями. От старого алтаря сохранилось лишь барочные резные фигуры ангелов, которые сейчас находятся в  экспозиции деревянной скульптуры в музее истории Риги и мореходства.

После перестройки интерьера в связи со сменой конфессиональной принадлежности в 1924 году, алтарь был перенесён из центра в боковой придел церкви, а на его месте появился следующий, уже третий по счёту алтарь. Через некоторое время старый алтарь, возведенный Кристофом Миттельхаузеном и Якобом Шраде, был перенесен в католическую церковь святой Марии-Магдалины. Затем, уже в новейший период, в 1997 году, его перенесли в построенную незадолго до этого католическую церковь в Огре, где он украшает её интерьер и поныне.

Одним из самых примечательных элементов интерьера собора Святого Екаба может по праву считаться кафедра. Кафедра выполнена в стиле ампир. Интерьер собора отличается причудливым смешением различных архитектурных стилей, господствовавших в разные эпохи, в то время как снаружи церковь сравнительно однородна. Что касается кафедры, то она была выполнена из редкой породы красного дерева, на поверхности кафедры размещены интарсии с богатым растительным орнаментом и изысканными арабесками.

В 1761 году органный мастер из Халле Генрих Андрей Конциус приступил к работам по созданию органа для собора Святого Екаба. Орган очень скоро был готов, и щедрая лютеранская община заплатила Конциусу 3400 талеров за проделанный труд. На сегодняшний день от первого органа остались лишь приятные воспоминания и  проспект, яркий образец стиля рококо. Этот проспект выполнен в дереве, затем покрашен и позолочен. Новый, современный орган был изготовлен мастером Э. Мартином в 1913 году.

В 1886 году в соборе Святого Екаба были проведены внеплановые реставрационные работы, результатом которых стало обнаружение под слоем более поздней побелки, редкой декоративной росписи, которая восходит к XV веку. В настоящий момент «открытая» роспись служит композиционным оформлением интерьера здания церкви. В левом боковом нефе собора можно видеть фрагмент оригинального слоя окраски сводов, которому посчастливилось сохраниться до наших дней вопреки историческим перипетиям, неоднократно видоизменявшим собор изнутри.

В ходе продолжительных церковных погромов 1524 года погибла большая часть художественных ценностей собора. В начале ХХ века удалось обнаружить некоторые следы раннего оформления интерьера. В частности в 1922 году было обнаружено Распятие Триумфа, которое находилось в чердачных помещениях собора. Трудно установить точное время возникновения эксклюзивного образца католического культа, однако исследователи предполагают, что Распятие Триумфа было создано в промежутке времени с 1380 по 1420 год. Распятие Триумфа по праву считается одной из древнейших скульптурных работ на территории Латвии.

На историю внутрицерковных захоронений повлияло решение городских властей, принятое в 1773 году не без участия государыни-императрицы Екатерины II. Согласно этому решению, во избежание суровых эпидемий, необходимо было наложить запрет на захоронения внутри церквей в черте города. Существовавшие захоронения следовало вынести за пределы города-крепости. Многие фамильные склепы в соборе Святого Екаба как и в других церквах Риги были закрыты и замурованы, надгробные камни и могильные плиты были подвергнуты тщательной ревизии. Ранее существовавшие надгробия покрыли деревянным настилом, положив тем самым начало покрытия пола собора. Что касается наиболее ценных и примечательных могильных плит, то их решено было вмуровать в церковные стены, подобную картину мы можем наблюдать во многих готических рижских церквах. В числе таковых, находящихся в соборе Святого Екаба следовало бы отметить надгробную плиту Х. Фету, которая датируется 1464 года, надгробную плиту Д. Руммелу 1474 года и надгробную плиту М. Фишеру 1490 года.

Уже значительно позже, в ходе ремонтных работ, которые проводились в соборе в 1983 году, под полом был обнаружен уникальный в пределах Латвии ансамбль надгробий. После того, как учёные провели исследование этого ансамбля, пол был засыпан песком, а сверху была уложена керамическая плитка, которая служат покрытием церковного пола до наших дней.

В окна собора Святого Екаба вмонтированы витражи, которые были созданы в 20 веке. В частности, три красочных витража, украшающих окна восточной стены хора, были выполнены в 1902 году в стиле модерн. В этом же году был разобран старый барочный алтарь, что повлекло за собой «освобождение» центрального оконного проёма, который и был украшен витражами. При создании витражей художником использовался сакральный мотив виноградной лозы, которая в совокупности с вьющимися листьями и густыми свисающими гроздьями традиционно символизирует Святое Причастие.

Материал из Интернет-ресурсов:

http://www.travalapa.ru; http://ru.wikipedia.org

Оставить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *


Можно использовать следующие HTML-теги и атрибуты: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования