Pages Navigation Menu

Jericho

Jericho

In my childhood I often heard the expression “the trumpet of Jericho” (which is used in Russian to describe a very loud voice or a loud cry) and wondered what it could mean after all. When I grew up and became an adult, I got interested in the Bible and started to read it – only then did I understand the meaning of this expression. From the Bible I learned how God led His people to take over the promised land, and that the first city that God turned into the hands of the Israelites was the ancient city of Jericho. After a while, I myself had the opportunity to visit the place where Jericho once stood.

JERICHO (Arabic – Ar-riha, Ariha, Hebrew – Yeriho), is an ancient city lying within the boundary of the tribe of Benjamin. According to the common meaning of the word, it means fragrant, but some interpreters assert that it means moon, or crescent, because the inhabitants of Jericho probably worshipped it.

The Biblical Jericho is the most ancient, in the opinion of many scholars, city on the earth. The city existed continually on the same spot for seven thousand years, which sets the record among other settlements.

Mount of Forty Days (Mount Quarantania)

Ruins of the old city of Jericho lie west of the modern city’s center. The first traces of people inhabiting this area date back to eight thousand years before Christ. A mighty tower over eight meters tall dating back to the pre-Pottery Neolithic epoch has been discovered here, as well as some burials of the Chalcolitic period; city walls of the Bronze age – possibly, those very walls that fell from the loud trumpeting of the Israelites (famous “trumpets of Jericho”); ruins of the winter residential palace of Herod the Great with saunas, swimming pools and luxuriously decorated halls; and the mosaic floor of a synagogue dating back to V—VI centuries.

Monastery of Temptation

At the foot of Tel-as-Sultan hill there is a spring of prophet Elisha; the Bible says that according to the prophet’s word the bad water of this spring “has remained pure until this day” (2 Kings 2:19-22). Many experienced scientists believe that in the neighbouring hills great archeological treasures are hidden, which can be compared to those of the Valley of the Kings in Egypt.

Metochion of John the Forerunner in Jericho

Three kilometers north of modern Jericho there are the ruins of a Byzantine city and of a luxurious palace of Umayyad caliph Hisham ibn Abd al-Malik dating back to VIII—IX centuries.

West of Jericho, the Mount of Forty Days is rising, which is also called the Mount of Temptation, or the Mount Quarantania. According to the Bible, Jesus Christ fasted for fourty days as He was in the Judean desert; at some point, the devil approached Him and began to tempt Him. It is believed that Jesus Christ was tempted by the devil on this very spot. Now there is an Orthodox Monastery of Temptation located here.

Zacchaeus’s Fig Tree

Jericho is also mentioned in the story related to Zacchaeus, which is narrated in chapter 19 of the Gospel of Luke. According to the Bible, Zacchaeus was a rich man, being the chief tax collector; he was short in stature and lived in Jericho. When Jesus Christ was passing through the city where Zacchaeus lived, the latter desired to see the Messiah at least from the distance, so he climbed up a sycamore fig tree. Jesus Christ noticed him there and said, “Zacchaeus, come down immediately. I must stay at your house today.” (Gospel of Luke 19:5).

Trumpets of Jericho

Zacchaeus hastily came down and received Jesus with joy. Having been deeply touched, Zacchaeus made a promise to give four times as much to those he mistreated when he was collecting taxes and levies. In the house of Zacchaeus, because of people’s murmuring, Christ spoke the prominent words, “Today salvation has come to this house, because this man, too, is a son of Abraham. For the Son of Man came to seek and to save the lost.” (Gospel of Luke 19:9-10).

There is a tradition, according to which Zacchaeus later became the first bishop of the church in Palestinian Caesarea.

On the spot, where according to tradition the house of Zacchaeus stood, there is now the Metochion of John the Forerunner in Jericho of the Russian Spiritual Mission in Jerusalem belonging to the Russian Orthodox Church. Earlier, the site was in the possession of the Imperial Orthodox Palestine Society. On this property there is also the sycamore fig tree that withered because of time; over what is left of it a chapel is built.

Jericho was the first of Canaanite cities that according to God’s command was taken over by the Israelites.

Trumpet of Jericho (Shofar)

After their exodus from Egypt and Moses’ death, the Israelites were headed up by Joshua. This is the name of one of the books of the Bible – the Book of Joshua. It gives a detailed description of how the Israelites on the way back from Egyptian captivity were gradually conquering the promised land. According to the will of God, the first city on the Israelite’s way was the city of Jericho.

When the Israelites came up to Jericho, the king of Jericho ordered to bar all the gates of the city. But the Lord said to Joshua, “See, I have delivered Jericho into your hands, along with its king and its fighting men. March around the city once with all the armed men. Do this for six days. Have seven priests carry trumpets of rams’ horns in front of the ark. On the seventh day, march around the city seven times, with the priests blowing the trumpets. When you hear them sound a long blast on the trumpets, have the whole army give a loud shout; then the wall of the city will collapse and the army will go up, everyone straight in…

The armed guard marched ahead of the priests who blew the trumpets, and the rear guard followed the ark. All this time the trumpets were sounding. But Joshua had commanded the army, “Do not give a war cry, do not raise your voices, do not say a word until the day I tell you to shout. Then shout!” So he had the ark of the Lord carried around the city, circling it once. Then the army returned to camp and spent the night there… So on the second day they marched around the city once and returned to the camp. They did this for six days…The seventh time around, when the priests sounded the trumpet blast, Joshua commanded the army, “Shout! For the Lord has given you the city!”… When the trumpets sounded, the army shouted, and at the sound of the trumpet, when the men gave a loud shout, the wall collapsed; so everyone charged straight in, and they took the city.”

Two spies, who came earlier to Jericho to spy out the city, promised to save Rahab and her relatives for hiding them from their persecutors. They ordered her during the take over of Jericho to fasten a red rope to her window. Rahab followed their instructions and they saved her with the rest of her relatives. After that the city of Jericho was burned down.

Such is the short Bible story about the city of Jericho and its vicinities.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования

Страницы меню навигации

Иерихон

Иерихон

В детстве я часто слышал выражение «иерихонская труба» и всегда задумывался о том, что бы значило это выражение? Когда я стал уже довольно взрослым, и начал интересоваться и читать Библию,  только тогда я понял значение этого выражения. Из Библии я узнал, как Бог вел свой народ покорять землю обетованную, и первым городом, который Бог предал в руки израильтян, был древний город Иерихон. А спустя еще какое-то время мне самому довелось побывать на том месте, где когда-то стоял Иерихон.

ИЕРИХОН (арабское — Эр-риха, Ариха, еврейское — Ерихо), древний город, лежавший в пределах колена Вениаминова. Обычное значение слова следующее: благоухающий, благовонный, но, по мнению некоторых толкователей, оно означает: месяц или луну, которую могли боготворить основатели Иерихона.

Библейский Иерихон — древнейший, по мнению многих ученых, город на земле. Город существовал непрерывно на одном и том же месте в течение семи тысячелетий, что уже является рекордным среди других поселений.

Сорокадневная гора (Гора Каранталь)

Руины древнего Иерихона лежат к западу от центра современного города. Первые следы жизни людей здесь относятся к восьмому  тысячелетию до н. э.  Здесь открыты мощная башня высотой около 8 м относящаяся к эпохе докерамического неолита, а также захоронения периода халколита, городские стены бронзового века, возможно, те самые, что пали от громких труб израильтян (знаменитые «иерихонские трубы»), руины зимнего дворца-резиденции Ирода Великого с банями, бассейнами и пышно украшенными залами, а также мозаичный пол синагоги V—VI веков.

Монастырь Искушения

У подножия холма Тель-ас-Султан находится источник пророка Елисея, по слову которого, согласно Библии, негодная для питья вода этого источника «стала здоровою до сего дня» (4-я Книга Царств 2:19-22). Многие опытные ученые предполагают, что в окрестных холмах скрываются археологические ценности, сравнимые с Долиной царей в Египте.

Подворье Иоанна Предтечи в Иерихоне

В 3 км севернее современного Иерихона расположены руины византийского города и роскошного дворца омейядского халифа Хишама ибн Абд аль-Малика  VIII—IX веков.

К западу от Иерихона возвышается Сорокадневная гора, которую еще называют как гора Искушения или гора Каранталь. Согласно Библии Иисус Христос постился сорок дней находясь в Иудейской пустыне, и в какой то момент к Нему подошел дьявол и стал Его искушать. Считается, что именно на  этом месте Иисуса Христа искушал дьявол. Сейчас на этом месте расположен православный Монастырь Искушения.

Закхеева смоковница

Иерихон упоминается и в истории, связанной с Закхеем, которая упоминается в 19 главе Евангелия от Луки. Согласно Библии, Закхей — богатый человек, начальник мытарей, обладал небольшим ростом и жил в Иерихоне.Когда Иисус Христос проходил через город, где жил Закхей, то последний, желая хоть издали увидеть Мессию, залез на смоковницу. Там его и заметил Иисус  Христос, и сказал: « Закхей! Сойди скорее, ибо сегодня надобно Мне быть у тебя в доме» (Евангелие от Луки 19:5).

Иерихонские трубы

Закхей поспешно сошел и принял Иисуса с радостью. Глубоко тронутый Закхей дал обещание вчетверо воздать всем, кого только он когда-нибудь обидел при сборе пошлин и податей. В доме Закхея Христос ввиду народного ропота сказал знаменательные слова: «ныне пришло спасение дому сему, потому что и он сын Авраама, ибо Сын Человеческий пришел взыскать и спасти погибшее» (Евангелие от Луки 19:9-10).

Существует придание, согласно которому, Закхей впоследствии стал первым епископом церкви в Кесарии Палестинской.

На месте, где по преданию находился дом Закхея, в настоящее время  располагается Подворье Иоанна Предтечи в Иерихоне Русской духовной миссии в Иерусалиме Русской православной церкви. Ране участок принадлежал Императорскому Православному Палестинскому обществу. На участке сохранились и высохшая от времени смоковница, над остатками которой построена часовня.

Иерихон был первым из ханаанских городов, который по повелению Бога был взят израильтянами.

Иерихонская труба (шофар)

После исхода из Египта и смерти Моисея израильтян возглавил Иисус Навин. Одна из книг Библии так и называется, — книга Иисуса Навина. В ней подробно описано то, как израильтяне возвращаясь из египетского плена, постепенно завоевывал землю обетованную. Согласно Божьей воле первым городом, который был на пути у израильтян, был Иерихон.

Когда израильтяне подошли к Иерихону, иерихонский царь приказал запереть все ворота города. Но Господь сказал Иисусу Навину: «…вот, Я предаю в руки твои Иерихон и царя его, и находящихся в нем людей сильных. Пойдите вокруг города все, способные к войне, и обходите город однажды в день; и это делай шесть дней. И семь священников пусть несут семь труб юбилейных пред ковчегом; а в седьмой день обойдите вокруг города семь раз, и священники пусть трубят трубами. Когда затрубит юбилейный рог, когда услышите звук трубы, тогда весь народ пусть воскликнет громким голосом; и стена города обрушится до своего основания, и весь народ войдет в город…

Вооруженные же шли впереди священников, которые трубили трубами; а идущие позади следовали за ковчегом, во время шествия трубя трубами. Народу же Иисус дал повеление и сказал: не восклицайте и не давайте слышать голоса вашего, и чтобы слово не выходило из уст ваших до того дня, доколе я не скажу вам: «воскликните!» и тогда воскликните. Таким образом ковчег завета Господня пошел вокруг города, и обошел однажды; и пришли в стан, и ночевали в стане… Таким образом и на другой день обошли вокруг города однажды, и возвратились в стан. И делали это шесть дней… Когда в седьмой день и на седьмой раз священники трубили трубами, Иисус сказал народу: «Воскликните, ибо Господь предал вам город!» Как скоро услышал народ голос трубы, воскликнул народ громким голосом; и обрушилась стена города до своего основания, и народ пошел в город, каждый со своей стороны, и взяли город».

Двое соглядатаев, которые приходили раньше на разведку в Иерихон, обещали спасти Раав и ее родственников за то, что она укрыла их от преследователей. Они велели ей во время взятия Иерихона привязать красную веревку к окну. Раав сделала это, и они спасли ее вместе со всеми родными. После этого город Иерихон был сожжен.

Вот такая краткая библейская история города Иерихона и его окрестностей.

Оставить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *


Можно использовать следующие HTML-теги и атрибуты: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования