Pages Navigation Menu

Los Angeles (USA, California)

Los Angeles

Los Angeles

Los Angeles (also known as L.A. or City of Angels) – is a city in the USA, in the south of California State and on the coast of the Pacific Ocean. It is the biggest city of the state by population and second biggest in the country (as of 2006 – 4,097,000 citizens). The city is a center of so called Greater Los Angeles Area – an agglomeration populated by more than 17 million people. Los Angeles citizens are also called «Angelenos».

Los Angeles – is one of world’s largest cultural, scientific, business, and educational centers. The city is also one of the biggest centers of entertainment industry in the world (motion pictures, music, and television production).

The district where the present-day city is located was populated by indigenous North Americans for many thousand years. The coastal area, where Los Angeles lies now, was settled by the Tongva, Chumash and other Native American tribes for centuries. Europeans arrived here first in 1542, when Californian coast was visited by an expedition of a Spanish pioneer Juan Cabrillo.

Los Angeles was founded on September 4, 1781 under the name of El Pueblo de Nuestra Señora la Reina de los Ángeles sobre El Río Porciúncula (The Town of Our Lady the Queen of the Angels on the Porciúncula River, in Spanish) by a group of Spanish colonists of forty six people. For a few decades the new settlement remained as a small town, but by 1820 its population reached 650 people, to make it the largest civil settlement in Spanish California.

After the declaration of Independence by Mexico State, Los Angeles was included in its territory. In 1847, during the American-Mexican war, the city passed on to the United States. In 1850 Los Angeles received the status of a city.

In 1876, Southern Pacific Company finished building the railroad to Los Angeles. The future development of the city was prompted by the discovery of oil in the area of the city in 1892. In 1923, in Los Angeles region one forth of the entire productions of gasoline in the world was concentrated. In 1913, construction of an aqueduct was completed to supply water for the needs of the growing city. In the 1920s, the motion picture and aviation industries flocked to Los Angeles. In 1932 the city hosted X Summer Olympics.

With the beginning of the World War II the development of the city received a new impulse. At this period a number of German scientists, artists and writers moved to Los Angeles as they fled from Nazism (among them are Lion Feuchtwanger, Thomas Mann, Fritz Lang, Berthold Brecht and others). At the same time one has to indicate the fact that during the war thousands of Japanese Americans were interned to enclosed camps.

In the post-war years the city boomed and sprawled: many business centers and traffic intersections were built. In 1984, Summer Olympic Games were held in Los Angeles again, but athletes from Socialist camp countries did not take part in them. In 1992 the city became the scene of large-scale riots and violence, caused by racial controversies; and in 1994 it survived a devastating earthquake which damaged many buildings and objects of the city’s infrastructure. After these events campaign for the seceding of Hollywood and San Fernando Valley from Los Angeles became prevailing but the general vote of 2002 did not allow these plans to be fulfilled.

Pages: 1 2 3 4

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования

Страницы меню навигации

Лос-Анджелес (США, Калифорния)

Лос-Анджелес

Лос-Анджелес

Лос-Анджелес (Лос-Анжелос, Лос-Анжелес) (английское Los Angeles, испанское Los Ángeles, также известен в англоязычном мире как L.A. или City of Angels) — город в США, на юге штата Калифорния, на берегу Тихого океана. Крупнейший по численности населения город штата и второй — в стране (население на 2006 — 4097000). Город является центром т. н. Большого Лос-Анджелеса — агломерации с населением свыше 17 млн. человек. Жителей Лос-Анджелеса называют «Angelenos».

Лос-Анджелес — один из крупнейших мировых культурных, научных, экономических, образовательных центров. Также город — один из крупнейших мировых центров индустрии развлечений (кино, музыка, телевидение).

Район, где располагается нынешний город, был населён коренными североамериканцами уже многие тысячелетия. На прибрежных территориях, занимаемых сейчас Лос-Анджелесом, веками жили индейцы Тонгва, Чумаш и других племён. Первое появление европейцев в данном регионе относится к 1542, когда побережье Калифорнии было посещено экспедицией испанского первопроходца Хуана Кабрилло.

Лос-Анджелес был основан в 4 сентября 1781 под названием El Pueblo de Nuestra Señora la Reina de los Ángeles sobre El Río Porciúncula (испанское Селение Девы Марии, царицы ангелов на реке Порсьюнкула) группой испанских колонистов в составе 46 человек. Несколько десятилетий новое поселение оставалось всего лишь маленьким городком, но к 1820 его население достигло 650 человек, став, таким образом, крупнейшим гражданским поселением в испанской Калифорнии.

После провозглашения независимости Мексики Лос-Анджелес входил в её состав. В 1847 во время американо-мексиканской войны город перешёл к США. В 1850 Лос-Анджелес получил статус города.

В 1876 компания Southern Pacific завершила строительство железной дороги до Лос-Анджелеса. Дальнейшее развитие города подстегнуло открытие в 1892 в районе города залежей нефти. В 1923 в регионе Лос-Анджелеса производилась четверть всего мирового выпуска бензина. В 1913 году было завершено строительство акведука, который обеспечил водой растущий Лос-Анджелес. С 1920-х годов в Лос-Анджелесе быстрыми темпами стали развиваться авиационная индустрия и кинобизнес. В 1932 город принял X летние Олимпийские игры.

Начало Второй мировой войны придало новый импульс развитию города. В этот период в город переселился ряд немецких деятелей науки, культуры и искусства, бежавших от нацизма (среди них Лион Фейхтвангер, Томас Манн, Фриц Ланг, Бертольд Брехт и др.). В то же время следует отметить тот факт, что на время войны тысячи американцев японского происхождения были интернированы в закрытые лагеря.

В послевоенные годы город бурно развивался и рос вширь; строились многочисленные транспортные развязки, офисные центры. В 1984 в Лос-Анджелесе вновь была проведена летняя Олимпиада, в которой не принимали участие спортсмены из стран социалистического лагеря. В 1992 город стал ареной массовых беспорядков и погромов, произошедших на национальной почве; в 1994 пережил разрушительное землетрясение, повредившее многие дома и объекты городской инфраструктуры. После этих событий набрало силу движение за отделение Голливуда и долины Сан Фернандо от Лос-Анджелеса, но всеобщее голосование 2002 года не позволило осуществиться этим планам.

Страницы: 1 2 3 4

Оставить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *


Можно использовать следующие HTML-теги и атрибуты: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования