Pages Navigation Menu

White House (Washington, District of Columbia)

The White House is the residence of the US president.

The White House is the residence of the US president.

The White House is the residence of the US president. It is located in Washington (District of Columbia) at the address: 1600, Pennsylvania Avenue and is one of the most popular tourist attractions in US. The White House was the official residence of all presidents of the United States except George Washington, who occupied this post from 1789 to 1797. When the White House was completed in 1800, the current president was John Adams. In August of 1814, the White House was burned down by the British, after which it was reconstructed and restored.

It is a mansion in Palladian Style (architect James Hoban). Construction began in 1792 and ended on November 1 of 1800. On the same day, the second president of USA John Adams became its first tenant.

There are six floors in the White House: two ground floors, two for public receptions and two for the President’s family. Visitors, who tour the White House, have an opportunity to see the most beautiful and historic facilities, including the East Room, Green Room, Blue Room, Red Room and President’s Dining Room for official activities. These rooms are used by the President and First Lady to receive guests and leaders from other countries. In the Oval Office the President is carrying out his activities of running the country – he signs law projects and government edicts and meets with his staff members, visitors and guests.

Originally, it was named “Presidential Palace” or “President’s Mansion;” the first colloquial expression “White House” was mentioned back in 1811. It became the official one only in 1901, by the order of Theodor Roosevelt. Since 1909, the working place of the President is in the Oval Office in the left wing of the building.

In journalists’ speech the term “White House” is used as a synonym for the Administration of the President of the United States (similar to “The Kremlin,” “Élysée Palace” and so forth).

The White House is pictured on the banknote of 20 US dollars.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования

Страницы меню навигации

Белый дом (Вашингтон, округ Колумбия)

Белый дом  — резиденция президента США

Белый дом — резиденция президента США

Белый дом (английское the White House) — резиденция президента США. Расположен в Вашингтоне (округ Колумбия) по адресу: Пенсильвания-авеню, 1600 (английское 1600, Pennsylvania Avenue), является одним из наиболее популярных туристических достопримечательностей в США. Белый дом был официальной резиденцией всех Президентов США, за исключением Джорджа Вашингтона, который занимал этот пост с 1789 по 1797 годы. На момент завершения строительства Белого дома в 1800 году Президентом страны являлся Джон Адамс. В августе 1814 года Белый дом был сожжен британцами, после чего реконструирован и восстановлен.

Он представляет собой особняк в палладианском стиле (архитектор Джеймс Хобан). Строительство началось в 1792, окончилось 1 ноября 1800. В этот же день первым его хозяином стал второй президент США Джон Адамс.

В Белом доме шесть этажей: два цокольных, два для общественных приемов и два для семьи Президента. Посетители, приходящие в Белый дом на экскурсию, имеют возможность увидеть самые красивые и исторические помещения, включая Восточную комнату, Зеленую комнату, Голубую комнату, Красную комнату и Столовую для официальных мероприятий. Эти помещения используются Президентом и Первой леди для приема гостей и руководителей из других стран. В Овальном кабинете Президент осуществляет свою деятельность по управлению страной – подписывает законопроекты и правительственные распоряжения и встречается со своими сотрудниками, посетителями и гостями.

Первоначально именовался «Президентский дворец» или «Президентский особняк», первое разговорное употребление термина «Белый дом» относится к 1811. Официальным название стало лишь в 1901 по распоряжению Теодора Рузвельта. С 1909 рабочее место президента находится в Овальном кабинете в левом крыле здания.

В журналистском языке термин «Белый дом» употребляется как синоним администрации президента США (аналогично «Кремль», «Елисейский дворец» и т. п.)

Белый дом изображён на банкноте в 20 долларов США.

Материал из ВИКИПЕДИИ

Оставить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *


Можно использовать следующие HTML-теги и атрибуты: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования