Pages Navigation Menu

White House (Washington, District of Columbia)

The White House is the residence of the US president.

The White House is the residence of the US president.

The White House is the residence of the US president. It is located in Washington (District of Columbia) at the address: 1600, Pennsylvania Avenue and is one of the most popular tourist attractions in US. The White House was the official residence of all presidents of the United States except George Washington, who occupied this post from 1789 to 1797. When the White House was completed in 1800, the current president was John Adams. In August of 1814, the White House was burned down by the British, after which it was reconstructed and restored.

It is a mansion in Palladian Style (architect James Hoban). Construction began in 1792 and ended on November 1 of 1800. On the same day, the second president of USA John Adams became its first tenant.

There are six floors in the White House: two ground floors, two for public receptions and two for the President’s family. Visitors, who tour the White House, have an opportunity to see the most beautiful and historic facilities, including the East Room, Green Room, Blue Room, Red Room and President’s Dining Room for official activities. These rooms are used by the President and First Lady to receive guests and leaders from other countries. In the Oval Office the President is carrying out his activities of running the country – he signs law projects and government edicts and meets with his staff members, visitors and guests.

Originally, it was named “Presidential Palace” or “President’s Mansion;” the first colloquial expression “White House” was mentioned back in 1811. It became the official one only in 1901, by the order of Theodor Roosevelt. Since 1909, the working place of the President is in the Oval Office in the left wing of the building.

In journalists’ speech the term “White House” is used as a synonym for the Administration of the President of the United States (similar to “The Kremlin,” “Élysée Palace” and so forth).

The White House is pictured on the banknote of 20 US dollars.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования