Pages Navigation Menu

UPPSALA CATHEDRAL (SWEDEN)

Uppsala Cathedral

Visiting the main and highest Christian church of Sweden –– Uppsala Cathedral –– was an important event in my journey throughout Sweden. The Uppsala Cathedral (Swedish Uppsala domkyrka) is the main cathedral of the Church of Sweden and archdiocese of Uppsala, a national sanctuary in mixed Gothic style. It is located in the center of the city of Uppsala and is the highest cathedral in Northern Europe after Nidaros Cathedral and the St. Mary’s Church in Gdańsk; it is also the biggest cathedral in Scandinavia, its height being 118.7 meters.

Every year more than a half million people visit the Uppsala Cathedral in search of silence or to attend a God-worship service, listen to a concert or just enjoy the beauty of the historic monument of architecture. Among the church values of the sanctuary there is a gilded shrine with the remains of St. Eric. In the Uppsala Cathedral Gustav I Vasa and Carolus Linnaeus are buried. The Northern Tower today is Museum of Church Textile. In the southern portal stone figures of XIV century and of earlier times are at display.

Construction of the cathedral began in 1287 and lasted around 150 years. Only in 1435 the grand opening of the temple took place. The cathedral is dedicated to several saints: Saint Lawrence, the most honourable saint in medieval Sweden, Saint Eric, patron of Stockholm, and Saint Olaf, patron of Norway.

His Holiness Pope John Paul II. Autograph on the official photo

In 1702, the cathedral seriously suffered from a fire. After reconstruction the high towers were replaced by small ones, and the domes were rebuilt in Baroque style. In 1885-1893, a second restoration occurred, which resulted in a Gothic appearance of the building. The original medieval style of the cathedral is preserved only in form of the brick walls. The interior is also rebuilt in Neo-Gothic style.

In June of 1989, Roman Pope John Paul II visited the Uppsala Cathedral.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования

Страницы меню навигации

Кафедральный собор Уппсалы (Швеция)

Кафедральный собор Уппсалы

Кафедральный собор Уппсалы

Важным событием в моем путешествии по Швеции было посещение самой главной и самой высокой христианской церкви Швеции – Кафедрального собора Уппсалы.  Кафедральный собор Уппсалы (шведское — Uppsala domkyrka), — главный собор Церкви Швеции и архиедиоцеза Уппсалы, национальная святыня в смешанном готическом стиле. Расположен в центре города Уппсала. Является самым высоким собором в Северной Европе после Нидаросского собора и церкви Святой Марии в Гданьске, и самым большим собором в Скандинавии. Высота собора 118,7 метров.

Каждый год более полумиллиона человек посещает Уппсальский собор в поисках тишины или приходит на богослужения, послушать концерт или просто насладиться красотой исторического памятника архитектуры. Среди церковных ценностей святыня: позолоченная рака с мощами Святого Эрика. В Уппсальском соборе захоронены Густав I Васа и Карл Линней. Северная Башня сегодня Музей церковного текстиля. В южном портале выставлены каменные фигуры XIV века и младше.

Строительство собора началось в 1287 году и продолжалось около 150 лет. Только в 1435 году состоялось открытие храма. Собор был посвящен нескольким святым: Святому Лаврентию, наиболее почитаемому в средневековой Швеции, Святому Эрику, покровителю Стокгольма и Святому Олафу, покровителю Норвегии.

Его Святейшество Папа Римский Иоанн Павел II. Автограф на официальной фотографии. Из личной коллекции

В 1702 году Кафедральный собор сильно пострадал по время пожара. После реконструкции высокие башни были заменены на маленькие, а купола отстроены в стиле барокко. В 1885—1893 годах прошла вторая реставрация, после которой здание приобрело готический вид. Оригинальный средневековый стиль собора сохранился лишь в виде кирпичных стен. Внутренний интерьер также перестроен в неоготическом стиле.

В июне 1989 года в Кафедральном соборе Уппсалы побывал Папа Римский Иоанн Павел II.

По материалам Интернет-ресурса

http://ru.wikipedia.org

Оставить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *


Можно использовать следующие HTML-теги и атрибуты: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования