Pages Navigation Menu

SWEDISH GATE (RIGA)

SWEDISH GATE

SWEDISH GATE

The Swedish Gate is the only gate of eight Riga gates that has been preserved till our days. The gate was built in 1698 to connect inner city with barracks and houses outside the city walls. Similar to all the other Riga gates, the Swedish Gate would open at dawn and close at sunset. Jurgen’s Tower – one of preserved medieval towers – is built into the complex of facilities adjoining the Swedish Gate. The first mention of the tower was recorded in 1350.

As one legend has it, the gate was named to commemorate Swedish heroism during the Northern war. During the Northern war, Russian troops captured many strategic towers and by 1710 possessed the whole city. Plaque and famine forced the Swedes to surrender. Peter the Great, being a military man himself, appreciated the bravery of the Swedes and let them go. The Swedes were leaving the city through the Swedish Gate – that is how the gate received its name.

There is another legend, which tells us about an unfortunate love of two young people. In those days there was a law, according to which young ladies were not allowed to go out with military servicemen, especially with Swedish soldiers. But one girl fell in love with a blond Swedish warrior and violating the prohibition they met at the gate in secret. But one day the soldier did not show up for the date and dwellers of the city found out the secret of the two lovers. For breaking the law a terrible punishment awaited the girl – she was walled into the gate alive. People say that in the evenings, especially in spring, when everybody’s feelings awaken, one can hear a girl’s voice calling her beloved; but not everyone can hear the girl – only those who truly love or have loved.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования

Страницы меню навигации

Шведские ворота (Рига)

ШВЕДСКИЕ ВОРОТА

ШВЕДСКИЕ ВОРОТА

Шведские ворота — единственные из 8-ми ворот Риги,  сохранившихся до наших дней. Ворота были построены в 1698 году для того, чтобы соединить внутренний город с казармами и домами вне стен города. Также как и все остальные Рижские ворота, Шведские ворота  открывались на рассвете и закрывались на закате. В комплекс построек примыкающих к Шведским воротам встроена башня Юргена, одна из сохранившихся средневековых башен. Первое упоминание башни относится к 1350 году.

Легенда гласит, что название воротам дано в честь геройства шведов во время Северной войны. Во время Северной войны русские войска заняли многие значимые башни и к 1710 году захватили весь город. Мор и голод заставили шведов сдаться. Петр Первый, сам будучи военным, по достоинству оценил храбрость шведов и отпустил их. Шведы оставляли город через Шведские ворота, откуда они и получили свое название.

Есть и вторая легенда, повествующая о неразделенной любви двух молодых людей. В те времена существовал закон, по которому девицам запрещалось встречаться с военными, особенно со шведскими солдатами.  Но одна девушка влюбилась в белокурого шведского воина и в нарушение запретам они тайком встречались у ворот. Однажды воин не пришел на свидание, и жителям города стала известна тайна двух влюбленных. За нарушение закона девушку постигла страшная кара, ее заживо замуровали в стену ворот. Поговаривают, что вечерами, особенно весной, когда у всех просыпаются чувства, у ворот можно услышать, как девушка зовет своего возлюбленного, однако не все могут услышать девушку, а лишь те, кто по настоящему любил и любит.

Информация из Интернет-ресурса:

http://www.citariga.lv

Оставить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *


Можно использовать следующие HTML-теги и атрибуты: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования