Pages Navigation Menu

Blue Mountains National Park

Spring in Blue Mountains National Park

Spring in Blue Mountains National Park

On the way from Sydney to Canberra, slightly off the central highway, the Australian Blue Mountains National Park is located. In spring, when everything is rampant with green growth and flowers, the Blue Mountains look especially scenic, and the air is filled with essential oils of eucalyptuses and fragrances of the blossoming shrubs and trees. As we drove from Sydney to Melbourne, we visited this unique corner of the Australian wild nature. As we journeyed through the park, we observed the wild rampage of spring colours and our eyes stopped from time to time to behold the enchanting mountain landscapes. We were getting drunk with the purest mountain air, filled with the thrilling aromas of the Australian spring.

Blue Mountains National Park

Blue Mountains National Park

The Mountains are called blue, because there you can see quite an unusual optical phenomenon – due to the light’s refraction, the numerous drops of eucalyptus oil from the huge trees that abundantly cover the mountains, give them a tender blue tint, as a kind of mist, that makes the entire mountain range look like a fantastic illusion.

Being a part of the famous Great Dividing Range, the Blue Mountains are only one hour drive away from Sydney to the west; and they are entered by UNESCO into its list of the World Heritage objects. The Blue Mountains National Park itself was founded in 1958. The park occupies the area of 97 thousand hectares.

Three Sisters

The Blue Mountains are unique first of all because of their untypical rock composition for the Great Dividing Range. On top of that, the abundant rains and active surface waters, usual for such high and precipitous mountains, increased the effect. Quick tumultuous rivers, running to the Tasman Sea, have cut deep and narrow ravines in them. The highest point of the Blue Mountains – is Mountain Victoria (Werong) which is 1,111 meters tall.

The park’s flora includes characteristic species of trees for the Australian tropical forests: blue eucalyptuses, tree-ferns, acacias, mint trees. In its fauna the following species are represented: grey kangaroo, mountain kangaroo (wallaroo), swamp wallaby, brush-tailed phascogale (or common wambenger) and common ringtail possum, and other marsupials. There are a lot of exotic birds here (Rufous Fantail, Wonga Pigeon, Crimson Rosella, Yellow Flycatcher, and Rockwarbler that only lives in the Blue Mountains, et cetera).

Tourists in the Blue Mountains National Park have everything that is necessary! On the park’s territory there are several viewing decks where one can get breathtaking sights of the valleys below, and of the famous rocks The Three Sisters (gigantic stone formations from the indigenous people’s legends), and of the Echo gorge.

In the Katoomba village you can get a ride on the steepest railway in the world, or in a cable car cabin above the cliffs. HereyoucanseethehighestwaterfallinAustralia. Not far from it you can go down into the Jenolan Caves. These are the most famous limestone grottoes in Australia. In one of the nine caves there is an abundance of magically illuminated limestone stalactites and stalagmites.

In this article the material is used from the Web-resource: http://www.naturelifepark.com

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования

Страницы меню навигации

Национальный парк Голубые горы

Весна в национальном парке Голубые горы

По пути из Сиднея в Канберру, немного в стороне от центральной магистрали,  располагается австралийский национальный парк Голубые горы.  Весной, когда все вокруг буйствует зеленью и цветами, Голубые горы выглядят особо живописно, а воздух наполнен эфирными маслами эвкалиптов и ароматами цветущих кустов и деревьев. Совершая переезд из Сиднея в Мельбурн мы посетили этот неповторимый уголок австралийской дикой природы. Путешествуя по парку мы наблюдали буйство весенних красок, а наши взоры время от времени останавливались созерцая обворожительные горные пейзажи. Мы упивались чистым горным воздухом, наполненным  волнующими ароматами австралийской весны.

Национальный парк Голубые горы

Голубыми горы зовутся потому, что там наблюдается не совсем обычное оптическое явление: из-за преломления света многочисленные капли эвкалиптового масла с огромных эвкалиптов, которыми в изобилии покрыты горы, придают им нежный голубой окрас, своего рода, дымку, делающую горную гряду похожей на некий фантастический мираж.

Будучи частью знаменитого Большого Водораздельного хребта, Голубые горы находятся всего в часе езды к западу от Сиднея и внесены в список мирового наследия ЮНЕСКО. Сам национальный парк Голубые горы основан был в 1958 г. Площадь парка – 97 тыс. Га.

Три сестры

Уникальность Голубых гор заключается, в первую очередь, в их нетипичном для Большого Водораздельного хребта составе горных пород. К этому добавилось обилие дождей и активность поверхностных вод, обычная для таких крутых и довольно высоких гор. Короткие бурные реки, сбегающие к Тасманову морю, проложили в них узкие глубокие ущелья. Самая высокая точка Голубых гор — гора Виктория (1111 м.).

Флора парка включает характерные виды деревьев австралийских тропических лесов: голубой эвкалипт, древовидные папоротники, акацию, мятное дерево. В составе фауны представлены: серый кенгуру, горный кенгуру (валлару), болотный валлаби, кистехвостый и кольцехвостый опоссумы и другие сумчатые. Много здесь экзотических птиц (рыжая веерохвостка, голубь Вонга, прозелла Кримсона, желтый мухолов, обитающая только в Голубых горах пещерная славка и другие).

Для туристов в национальном парке Голубые горы созданы все условия! На территории парка существует несколько смотровых площадок, откуда открываются захватывающие дух виды на расположенные внизу долины, знаменитые скалы Три сестры The Three Sisters (гигантские каменные формации из легенд аборигенов) и ущелье Эха.

В деревне Катумба можно прокатиться по самой крутой в мире железной дороге или над скалами в кабине подвесной канатной дороги. Здесь можно увидеть самый высокий водопад Австралии. Неподалеку можно спуститься в пещеры Дженолан. Это самые известные известняковые гроты в Австралии. В одной из девяти пещер изобилие волшебно подсвеченных известняковых сталактитов и сталагмитов.

В статье использован материал с Интернет-ресурса: http://www.naturelifepark.com

Оставить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *


Можно использовать следующие HTML-теги и атрибуты: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования