Pages Navigation Menu

Saint Patrick’s Cathedral in Melbourne

St. Patrick's Cathedral

Founded in 1835, Melbourne experienced active growth due to the Gold rush, which took over the entire Green Continent in the early 1850s. Since 1851, the population of a small in those times town began to increase rapidly. Thousands of goldminers rushed here from all over the world hoping to find their fortune. Among them there were many immigrants from Ireland, still a relatively poor marginal province of the British Empire. It was them, who brought to Melbourne the cult of Saint Patrick; and it was to Saint Patrick that the first Catholic church of Melbourne was devoted to.

Central Tower with a spire and Celtic Cross

The Cathedral’s construction started in 1858. The project’s author was William Wilkinson Wardell, an ardent worshipper of the Gothic style and of the grand-scale architecture. No wonder he proposed to erect a huge neo-Gothic cathedral in Melbourne, which would overshadow in its dimensions everything built by man on the land of the Green Continent. In the process of construction, Wardell had to make some changes in the project, but still St Patrick’s Cathedral in Melbourne is unanimously acknowledged to be the most beautiful ecclesiastic building in Australia.

Element of Religious Symbolism

The cathedral’s construction lasted for forty years. Beginning from 1868, worship services were held in its nave. Consecrated in October of 1897, St. Patrick’s Cathedral became the largest ecclesiastic building of the XIX century. Its dimensions are as follows: it is 103.6 meters long; 56.38 meters wide; the nave’s width is 25.29 meters, the height of the nave and transepts – 28.95 meters.

Saint Patrick’s Cathedral is built with blocks of bluestone, and window frames, decorative balustrades, buttresses and spires – with lighter creamy blocks. Like almost all large cathedrals, in layout it has the shape of a Latin cross, spacious central nave, transept, choir, surrounded by a crown of seven chapels and a sacristy. The nave is built in the architectural style, which is close to Early English; other sections of the building are maintained in the spirit of so called “decorated Gothic.” The choir, central nave and transept are spanned with a high steep roof.

The cathedrals’ creator, William Wilkinson Wardell died two years after the cathedrals’ consecration. Decorative works in the cathedral continued for twenty more years. To the credit of the architect’s successors, they refused the idea to try to adorn the cathedral with stained glass windows, except for the stained glass in the chapels; and kept the amber glass windows, because of which the interior space of the cathedral is lit with the shimmering golden light. The floor is decorated with mosaic tiles. Mosaics produced in Venice were also used to decorate the altar made of marble and alabaster. West rosette-window is the only one that has stained glass. It was made in Birmingham (England) and it portrays the scene of Ascension.

In 1937-1939, the cathedral’s silhouette was completed by three towers, envisaged by Wardell’s project. The height of two twin-towers of the west façade is 61.87 m. The tower over the middle crossing, square in the lower tier and illumined by a row of narrow arrow-shaped windows is topped by an elegant multi-faceted construction, which is crowned with a spire that looks like a thin long arrow. Its height is 79.25 meters. Celtic Cross on top of the central spire was donated by the Irish government and weighs around 1 500 kilograms.

An organ of 4,500 pipes was installed in the cathedral in 1964 and it is one of the best organs in Australia. Perfect acoustics of the cathedral allows to hold in it regular concerts of leading musicians and choir groups, that enjoy huge popularity. In 1997, for the centenary of the cathedral’s consecration, it was upgraded; and now it fulfills its main function, being the leading religious and social center of South Australia.

Saint Patrick’s cathedral in Melbourne is one of the five Australian temples having the title and dignity of Minor Basilica.

His Holiness Pope John Paul II. Autograph on the official photograph

In 1970, Pope Paul VI became the first Pope to visit the cathedral. In 1974, Pope Paul VI conducted a service in the minor basilica of the cathedral. In 1986, Saint Patrick’s cathedral in Melbourne was visited by Pope John Paul II.

The article is based on information from encyclopedia “The World’s Greatest Temples” – Moscow, “Veche,” 2006.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования

Страницы меню навигации

Собор Святого Патрика в Мельбурне

Собор Святого Патрика

Основанный в 1835 году, Мельбурн переживал  бурный рост в связи с «золотой лихорадкой», охватившей Зеленый континент в начале 1850-х годов. С  1851 года население небольшого в ту пору городка  начало стремительно возрастать. Тысячи старателей хлынули сюда со всех концов света, надеясь найти свое счастье.  В их числе было немало выходцев из Ирландии, остававшейся сравнительно бедной окраиной Британской империи. Именно ирландцы принесли в Мельбурн культ Святого Патрика, именно Святому Патрику была посвящена первая католическая церковь Мельбурна.

Центральная башня с шпилем и кельтским крестом

Строительство собора началось в 1858 году. Автором проекта был Уильям Уилкинсон Уорделл, поклонник готики и архитектуры больших масштабов.  Вот и в Мельбурне он предложил возвести огромный неоготический собор, по своим масштабам затмевающий все, построенное когда-либо человеком на земле Зеленого континента.  В ходе строительства Уорделлу пришлось внести в проект некоторые изменения, но, как бы то ни  было, собор Святого Патрика в Мельбурне единодушно признан красивейшей церковью Австралии.

Элемент религиозной символики

Строительство храма продолжалось сорок лет. С 1868 года в его нефе уже совершались богослужения. Освященный в октябре 1897 года, собор Святого Патрика стал самой большой церковной постройкой XIX столетия. Его размеры: длина 103,6 м, ширина – 56,38 м, ширина нефа – 25,29 м, высота нефа и трансептов – 28,95 м.

Собор Святого Патрика сооружен из блоков голубоватого камня, а переплеты окон, декоративные балюстрады, контрфорсты и шпили – из бледно-кремового.  Подобно почти всем большим соборам, он имеет план в виде латинского креста, обширный центральный неф, трансепт, хор, окруженный венцом из семи капелл, и ризницу.  Неф сооружен в архитектурном стиле, близком к раннеанглийскому, а остальные части постройки выдержаны в духе так называемой «украшенной» готики. Хор, центральный неф и трансепт перекрыты высокой крутой кровлей.

Создатель собора,  Уильям Уилкинсон Уорделл,умер два года спустя после освящения храма. Работы по художественному оформлению собора продолжались в течение двадцати лет. К чести продолжателей дела архитектора, они отказались от попыток украсить собор витражами, за исключением витражей в капеллах, оставив в окнах янтарное стекло, благодаря чему интерьер  храма заливает мерцающий золотой свет. Пол декорирован мозаичным панно. Мозаики, изготовленные в Венеции, украшают и алтарь, выполненный из мрамора и алебастра. Западное окно-роза – единственное, имеющее витраж. Он изготовлен в Бирмингеме (Англия) и изображает сцену Вознесения.

В 1937-1939 годах силуэт собора дополнили три башни, предусмотренные проектом Уорделла. Высота двух башен-близнецов западного фасада – 61, 87 м.  Башня над средокрестием, квадратная в нижнем ярусе и освещенная рядом узких стрельчатых окон, выше переходит в изящную многогранную конструкцию, которую венчает шпиль, напоминающий тонкую длинную стрелу. Ее высота – 79,25 м. кельтский крест, завершающий центральный шпиль, пожертвован ирландским правительством и весит около 1500 кг.

Орган с 4500 трубами был установлен в соборе в 1964 году и является одним из лучших органов в Австралии.  Прекрасная акустика позволяет регулярно устраивать в храме концерты ведущих музыкантов и хоровых групп, пользующихся огромной популярностью.  В 1997 году, когда праздновалось 100-летие освящения собора, храм был отреставрирован и ныне продолжает выполнять свою главную функцию, являясь ведущим религиозным и общественным центром Южной Австралии.

Собор Святого Патрика в Мельбурне  является одним  из пяти австралийских храмов, носящих почётный статус «малой базилики».

Его Святейшество Папа Римский Иоанн Павел II. Автограф на официальной фотографии. Из личной коллекции

В 1970 году Папа Римский Павел VI стал первым папой, посетившим Собор. В 1974 году Папа Павел VI провёл богослужение в малой базилике Собора. В 1986 году  Собор Святого Патрика в Мельбурне посетил Папа Римский Иоанн Павел II.

Основу статьи составляет информация из энциклопедического справочника «Величайшие храмы мира», Москва, Изд-во «Вече», 2006 г.

Оставить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *


Можно использовать следующие HTML-теги и атрибуты: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования