Pages Navigation Menu

St. Basil’s Cathedral: history, mysteries, legends

St. Basil’s Cathedral

St. Basil’s Cathedral

An ancient Moscow legend has it, that when in an ambulatory church near Kazan during a liturgy a deacon proclaimed the Gospel verses, “So may the flock be united and may there be one shepherd,” a section of the enemy’s fortress wall, under which a sap was dug, exploded, and the Russian troops entered Kazan.

Most likely, at that time Ivan the Terrible made a decision to build a temple in honor of the victory near Kazan. The city was captured in 1552, and in 1554 this great sanctuary was founded near the Frolovskiye (Spasskiye) Gates on the site of a wooden Trinity church by the Kremlin ditch. Since Kazan was conquered on October 1, on the day of the festival of the Intersession of the Holy Virgin, so the new cathedral was after that day called the Cathedral of Intersession. There was a widely spread rumor that Ivan the Terrible allegedly built this temple in honor of his father, Great Prince Vasily III: “People will remember me a thousand years without any churches; yet I want my parent to be remembered as well.”

The temple was dedicated by Metropolitan Macarius on July 29 of 1557 in the presence of the Tsar; however, the construction was continued by Ivan the Terrible’s son, Tsar Fyodor, at the time of whose reign the hallows of St. Basil Fool for Christ were attained, and by the following monarchs of the Romanov dynasty. Each new ruler added a certain detail to the temple, and that’s what made it so unique. But officially the building of the Cathedral was finished on June 29 of 1561.

Barma and Postnik. One or two?

It is still unknown who built the temple. The legend holds it that it was constructed by Russian architects Barma and Postnik, although some historians believe that it was one person – Ivan Yakovlevich Barma, who was called Postnik because he kept a strict fast (post). The temple became so popular partially thanks to the legend that almost every school pupil knows. When the architect presented a miniature of the Cathedral to Ivan the Terrible the latter was delighted by the building’s beauty and asked the master if he could build another temple even more beautiful than this one. “I can,” answered the architect. “You’re lying!” shouted Ivan the Terrible and ordered the man be blinded so that the St. Basil’s Cathedral would remain the only one of its kind in the Russian Kingdom.

Their bright looking eyes with an awl of iron were pierced,
So that never again would they see the broad light of the world;
They were branded with brands; they were beaten with rods till they ceased;
Poor blind men were cast to the earth’s cold indifferent mould.

D. Kedrin, 1938

Historians say that this legend can be refuted by the fact that Postnik’s name is mentioned in the future in Chronicles in relation to other significant architectural constructions.

The temple could be a mosque

There are many legends about the Cathedral of Intersession. According to one of them, the temple is an inexact copy of the Qol Sharif Mosque in Kazan. When Ivan the Terrible’s army stormed the city, the Tsar was angry with the local residents’ resistance and ordered the beautiful mosque be demolished right after a successful storm. Gilded domes of the mosque, as the legend has it, were brought to Moscow on twelve carts. The St. Basil’s Cathedral erected in honor of the subdual of Kazan bears in itself an enciphered image of the ruined mosque. Eight cupolas of the Moscow temple duplicate eight minarets of Qol Sharif, while a ninth one as a symbol of victory rises above them. Historians cannot totally deny this legend because the architect presumably worked at the same time both on the Red Square and in Kazan where he rebuilt the walls of the Kremlin.

Researchers of the architecture of the Cathedral of Intercession more than once emphasized that it was not just a vow temple (that is, built based on a given vow) and its purpose was not limited to thankfulness for the victory in Kazan.

The Cathedral was supposed to become a temple of glorification of Moscow Russia’s victory; it was supposed to immortalize memory of those fallen by the walls of Kazan “for the friends of theirs,” and, lastly, the Cathedral symbolized at the same time the highest reward “in the kingdom of the heavens,” which according to the church’s teaching was to be received by the killed ones, and embodied the concept about Moscow as “the New Jerusalem” (the world center bringing salvation to the Orthodox world). That is, the Cathedral of Intercession, on the one hand, was conceived as a symbol of the heavenly city – the above Jerusalem, which was embodied in it through images of enthusiastic, festive, “paradisal” architecture, while, on the other hand, as an image of earthly Jerusalem that was joined to the image and fundamentals of the Church of the Holy Sepulchre. It is nothing but “Jerusalem” that this temple is called in the records of foreigners who visited Moscovia in 16th century.

Unique architecture of the Temple

The Cathedral of Intercession was originally different from how it looks like right now. First a wooden “model” was built that was later “transformed” into stone. This characteristic is reflected in the temple’s architecture, which by its levels of towers and domes and passages resembles northern wooden little churches in Karelia, Vologda and Kostroma regions.

None of the domes of this cathedral repeats another. One of them is densely studded with golden cones that are like stars in the sky in a dark night; on another one there are scarlet stripes running as zigzags on a bright background; a third one resembles a peeled orange with yellow and green segments. Each dome is decorated by cornices, kokoshniks, windows and niches. As a whole, the Cathedral leaves an impression of festivity and elegance. Until the end of 17 century, when Ivan the Great Belfry was built on the territory of the Kremlin, the St. Basil’s Cathedral was the highest building in Moscow. The Cathedral is 60 meters high. The side-chapels are connected to one another by a system of passes. Each church was dedicated in relation to the holy days, during which important events of the march to Kazan occurred. The central temple with pillars crowned by a hipped roof is named after the Intersession of the Holy Virgin. Eight side-temples surrounding the central pillar were dedicated in honor of the Holy Trinity, the Lord’s Entry into Jerusalem, Nicholas the Wonderworker, Saint Cyprianus and Ustinia, the Three Patriarchs of Alexandria, Saint Bishop Gregory of Armenia, venerable Barlaam of Khutyn and Alexander Svirsky.

Its today’s multicolored looks the temple attained in the second half of XVIII century under Catherine the Great. At that time it was reconstructed: 16 small domes around the towers were removed, yet octal symbolism was for the most part preserved, while the hip roof belfry was connected to the temple’s building. It was at that time that the temple received it’s today’s colors and became a real wonder.

The temple is famous for its underpasses. A large-scale survey of the temple was carried out in 1924 by D. P. Sukhovov and I. Y. Stelletsky. Under the John the Merciful side-chapel they found an immured room, in the floor of which there was a deep hole (hastily filled up).
The gun-slot windows of the found room were walled up with bricks. “On the lower level of the church there are firing slits instead of usual windows facing both the side of the river and the side of the Red Square [...]. In a labyrinth of underground rooms of the Cathedral there are the same approach routes leading to the firing slits as in the towers of Kitay-gorod or any of the monasteries” – I. Y. Stelletsky wrote.
This discovery made Stelletsky think that in XVI century the lower part of St. Basil’s Cathedral was designed for fighting.
A tenth church – St. Basil’s temple – was built in 1588. In this way the temple became ten-domed and received its second, unofficial name – St. Basil’s Cathedral.

Basil – a fool for Christ

As the legend has it, Basil, the most honored in Russia fool for God’s sake, used to collect money for the future Intersession temple into his flap, then brought it to the Red Square and threw them over his right shoulder, and nobody, even thieves, dared to touch those coins. Before dying, in August of 1552 he gave them to Ivan the Terrible who soon ordered to build a temple on this site.

Basil was born in 1469 in a village Yelokhovo near Moscow. His parents, peasants, gave him into a shoe maker’s apprenticeship. A hardworking and God-fearing youth, as the legend tells us, Basil was granted a gift of foresight that manifested incidentally. A person came to Basil’s master to order shoes and asked to make the kind that would serve several years. Basil smiled at that. When the master asked him what that smile meant Basil replied that the person who ordered shoes for several years would die tomorrow. And it actually happened.

Basil, being 16 years old, left his master and apprenticeship and began an exploit of living a life of a fool for God, which he continued for 72 years, without shelter and clothing, exposing himself to great hardships, burdening his body by chains that are still lying on his coffin. The fool’s hagiography describes how he by word and personal life taught people to live a moral life.

Pages: 1 2

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования

Страницы меню навигации

Храм Василия Блаженного: история, тайны, легенды

ХРАМ ВАСИЛИЯ БЛАЖЕННОГО

ХРАМ ВАСИЛИЯ БЛАЖЕННОГО

Старинная московская легенда гласит, что когда в походной церкви под Казанью на обеденной службе диакон возгласил евангельские строфы: «Да будет едино стадо и один пастырь», часть крепостной стены неприятельского города, под которую был сделан подкоп, взлетела на воздух, и русские войска вошли в Казань.

Тогда, по-видимому, Иван Грозный и принял решение построить храм в честь победы над Казанью. Город был взят в 1552 году, а в 1554 — заложена эта великая святыня близ Фроловских (Спасских) ворот на месте деревянной церкви Св. Троицы над Кремлевским рвом. Так как покорение Казани свершилось 1 октября, в праздник Покрова Пресвятой Богородицы, то и новый собор в честь этого дня был назван Покровским. Народная молва разносила слух о том, что якобы этот храм Иван Грозный строил в честь своего отца, великого князя Василия III: «Меня-то народ и без церквей тысячу лет будет помнить, а я хочу, чтобы и родителя моего помнили».

Освящал храм митрополит Макарий 29 июля 1557 года в присутствии царя, однако строительство было продолжено и сыном Ивана Грозного, царем Федором Иоанновичем, при котором были обретены мощи св. Василия Блаженного, и последующими государями династии Романовых. Каждый новый правитель добавлял храму какую-то деталь, что и сделало его столь неповторимым. Однако официально строительство храма было окончено 29 июня 1561 года.

Барма и Постник. Один или вдвоем?

До сих пор до конца неизвестно, кто же построил храм. Согласно легенде архитекторами были русские зодчие Барма и Постник, хотя некоторые историки склонны считать, что это был один человек — Иван Яковлевич Барма, которого прозвали Постником за то, что он держал строгий пост. Отчасти свою популярность храм приобрел благодаря легенде, известной любому школьнику. Когда зодчий представил макет собора Ивану Грозному, тот был восхищен красотой здания, он спросил мастера: может ли он построить другой, подобный, или ещё более прекрасный храм? «Могу»’, — ответил архитектор. «Ты лжешь!» — вскричал Иван Грозный и велел ослепить его, чтобы Храм Василия Блаженного остался единственным в Русском царстве.

Соколиные очи кололи им шилом железным, Дабы белого света Увидеть они не могли, Их клеймили клеймом, Их секли батогами, болезных, И кидали их, Темных, На стылое лоно земли.

1938г. Д.Кедрин.

Историки утверждают, что опровержение этой легенды может служить то, что имя Постника в дальнейшем встречается в летописи в связи с созданием других значительных архитектурных сооружений.

Храм мог быть мечетью

Существует много легенд о Покровском соборе. Согласно одной из них, храм является неточной копией мечети Кул-Шарифа в Казани. Когда армия Ивана Грозного штурмовала город, царь был рассержен сопротивлением жителей, он велел снести красивую мечеть тут же после удачного штурма. Золоченые главы мечети, по преданию, на двенадцати подводах увезли в Москву. Собор Василия Блаженного, возведенный в честь покорения Казани, несет в себе зашифрованный образ погибшей мечети. Восемь глав московского храма повторяют восемь минаретов Кул-Шарифа, а девятый как символ победы господствует над ними. Историки не могут до конца отрицать эту легенду, ведь предположительно зодчий одновременно работал тогда и на Красной площади, и в Казани, где возводил новые стены Кремля.

Исследователи архитектуры Покровского собора не раз подчеркивали, что это был не просто обетный храм (то есть построенный по данному обету), а его замысел не исчерпывался благодарением за казанскую победу.

Собор должен был стать храмом прославления победы Московской Руси, он должен был увековечить память о погибших «за други своя» под стенами Казани, и, наконец, собор знаменовал собой одновременно высшую награду «в царствии небесном», которую должны были получить, по учению церкви, убитые, и воплощал представление о Москве как о «новом Иерусалиме» (мировом центре, несущем спасение православному миру). То есть Покровский собор, с одной стороны, осмыслялся как символ небесного града — Горнего Иерусалима, который был воплощен в нем через образы жизнерадостной, праздничной, «райской» архитектуры, а с другой стороны, как образ земного Иерусалима, соединявшегося с образом и реалиями Храма Гроба Господня. Именно Иерусалимом называют собор иностранцы, посетившие в 16 в. Московию и оставившие записки о своих путешествиях.

Уникальная архитектура Храма

Первоначально Покровский собор был несколько иным, чем мы видим его сейчас. Первой построили деревянную модель, а потом «перевели» ее в камень. Эта особенность отразилась и на архитектуре храма, которая напоминает ярусными башнями, шатрами и переходами северные деревянные церковки в карельской, архангельской, вологодской и костромской сторонах.

Ни один купол в этом соборе не повторяет другой. Один из них густо усеян золотистыми шишками, они как звезды на небе в темную ночь; на другом — по светлому полю бегут зигзагами алые пояса; третий напоминает очищенный апельсин с желтыми и зелеными дольками. Каждый купол украшен карнизами, кокошниками, окнами, нишами. В целом собор создает ощущение праздничности и нарядности. До конца 17 века, пока на территории Кремля не была построена колокольня Ивана Великого, собор Василия Блаженного являлся самым высоким зданием в Москве. Высота собора составляет 60 метров. Приделы соединены друг с другом системой переходов. Каждая церковь получила освящение в связи с церковными праздниками, на дни которых приходились важные события Казанского похода. Центральный столпообразный храм, увенчанный шатром, назван в честь Покрова Пресвятой Богородицы. Восемь храмов-приделов, окружающих центральный столп, были освящены в честь Св. Троицы, Входа Господня в Иерусалим, Николы Великорецкого, свв. Киприана и Устиньи, Трех патриархов Александрийских, святителя Григория Армянского, преподобных Варлаама Хутынского и Александра Свирского.

Свой теперешний разноцветный вид храм обрел во второй половине XVIII века при Екатерине II. Тогда его реконструировали: снесли 16 маленьких глав вокруг башен, сохранив в основе восьмеричную символику, а шатровую колокольню соединили со зданием собора. Тогда же собор приобрел современную окраску и стал настоящим чудом.

Храм славен своими подземными ходами. Масштабное обследование храма произвели в 1924 году Д. П. Суховов и И. Я. Стеллецкий. Под приделом Иоанна Милостивого они обнаружили замурованную комнату, в полу которой виднелась глубокая яма (вскоре засыпанная).
Окна-бойницы найденной комнаты были заложены кирпичом. «В нижнем ярусе церкви вместо обычных окон — амбразуры, как со стороны реки, так и со стороны Красной площади [...]. В лабиринте подвалов собора к амбразурам такие же подступы, как и для пушек в башнях Китай-города и любого из монастырей»,- писал И. Я. Стеллецкий.
Открытие это навело Стеллецкого на мысль о том, что в XVI веке нижняя часть собора Василия Блаженного была предназначена для ведения боя.
Десятая церковь — храм святого Василия — была пристроена в 1588 году. Так храм стал десятиглавым и получил своё второе, неофициальное название — собор Василия Блаженного.

Василий Христа ради юродивый

Согласно легенде Василий Блаженный, самый чтимый на Руси юродивый, сам собирал в полу деньги на будущий Покровский храм, приносил на Красную площадь и бросал их через правое плечо, и никто, даже воры, не трогали этих монет. А перед смертью, в августе 1552 года отдал их Ивану Грозному, который вскоре повелел строить на этом месте храм.

Василий родился в 1469 г., в московском подгородном селе Елохове. Родители его, крестьяне, отдали его в обучение сапожному мастерству. Трудолюбивый и богобоязненный юноша, повествует житие, Василий был удостоен дара прозрения, который обнаружился случайно. К хозяину Василия пришел человек заказывать сапоги и просил сделать такие, которые прослужили бы несколько лет. Василий при этом улыбнулся. На вопрос хозяина, что значит эта улыбка, Василий ответил, что человек, заказывавший сапоги на несколько лет, умрет завтра. Так действительно и случилось.

Василий, шестнадцати лет от роду, оставил хозяина и мастерство и начал подвиг юродства, который совершал 72 года, без крова и одежды, подвергая себя великим лишениям, отягчая тело веригами, которые и доныне лежат на его гробе. Житие Блаженного описывает, как он и словом и примером учил народ нравственной жизни.

Страницы: 1 2

Оставить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *


Можно использовать следующие HTML-теги и атрибуты: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования