Pages Navigation Menu

July 15, 2009. Moscow.

July 15, 2009. Moscow. Near Mozhaisk archeologists excavated Godunov’s Palace.

Small fragments of the walls and a shallow moat is everything left from a unique monument of architecture — Boris’ town that served as residence for Boris Godunov. The fortress with its magnificent church and a luxurious palace was founded four centuries ago and became one of the key front posts on the southern border of the State. Now archeologists work upon the site, reports Vesti Moskva agency.

Only hills on a high river bank of the Protva River are left from the residence of Boris Godunov near Mozhaisk after four hundred years. It is on this very site of today’s excavations where Godunov’s Palace was standing in XVII century.

“The whole earthwork on which we are sitting now belongs to XVII century. And beneath it under 2.5 meters of sand thrown out in XVII century there is a layer of the time of Slavic exploration of this territory and the time of the Tatar invasion,” explains Boris Yanishevsky, the head of the Mozhaisk expedition of the Archeology Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

In the layers of dirt the archeologists discovered traces of even more ancient settlements dating back to the early Iron Age. Some of the findings are over 2.5 thousand years old.

“It is, I guess, a kind of a nail. Or, perhaps, it is a blade,” archeologists discuss.

The native domain of Boris Godunov named in XVII century Tsarev Borisov town on the southern border of the Russian State was one of the front posts against the Crimean Tatars. And Godunov’s Palace, according to the researchers’ words, was, most likely, an unapproachable fortress.

“A very solid fortress; 250 meters high; it had four towers. It is very likely that there used to be underpasses here leading to Vereya, and from there — leading to the banks of the Zhut River; there were underpasses, they say, through which one could easily ride in a cart,” says Ivan Nickolaychenko, a folk lore historian.

But this very fact, according to archeologists, remains as one of the legends. The artifacts found on the site of excavations show that the supposed underpasses are nothing else but brick-burning furnaces. Of the so-called “Tsar’s brick” the fortress was built as well as a church nearby it. The tent-dome temple of Boris and Gleb was considered the highest in Russia.

“It is very beautiful, 74 meters high, with beautiful descending staircases, with whitestone parts. Unfortunately, in XIX century under Nicolas I the monuments were treated with carelessness. It was decided to dissemble the big church in order to build a church for common people, says Boris Yanishevsky, the head of the Mozhaisk expedition of the Archeology Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

Now, today’s dwellers of Borisovo village dream of restoring the unique temple. But in the nearest future only exhibitions of archeological finds are scheduled. Arrows, bullets, decorations and even coins that remained in the earth since the time of the Turmoil and “Copper Uprising” — altogether over eighty pieces. They will be submitted to the local and some Moscow’s museums.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования

Страницы меню навигации

15 июля 2009 года, г. Москва.

Под Можайском археологи раскопали дворец Годунова.

Небольшие фрагменты стен и неглубокий ров — это все, что осталось от уникального памятника зодчества — Борисова городка, служившего резиденцией Борису Годунову. Крепость с величественной церковью и роскошным дворцом была основана четыре века назад и стала одним из ключевых форпостов на южной границе государства. Сейчас на этом месте работают археологи, сообщают «Вести-Москва».

От загородной резиденции Бориса Годунова под Можайском спустя 400 лет остались только холмы на высоком берегу реки Протвы. Как раз на том самом месте, где сейчас идут археологические раскопки, в XVII веке располагался дворец Годунова.

«Вал, на котором мы сидим, это всё XVII век. И под ним, под 2,5 метрами песка, выброшенного в XVII веке, залегает слой времени славянского освоения этой территории и времени татаро-монгольского нашествия», — поясняет Борис Янишевский, руководитель Можайской экспедиции Института археологии РАН.

В пластах земли археологи обнаружили и следы более древних поселений, относящихся к раннему железному веку. Некоторым находкам — более 2,5 тысяч лет.

«Это, по-моему, гвоздь какой-то. А, может быть, и клинок», — обсуждают археологи.

Вотчина Бориса Годунова, именующаяся в XVII веке как Царев-Борисов городок на южной границе российского государства, была одним из форпостов против крымских татар. И дворец Годунова, говорят исследователи, скорее, был неприступной крепостью.

«Очень основательная крепость, стена — 250 метров, четыре башни. Здесь, вполне возможно, были ходы, сообщения и с Вереей, а туда — до берега Жути — были ходы, говорят — такие ходы, в которые могла телега проехать», — говорит Иван Николайченко, краевед.

Однако именно это, по мнению археологов, остаётся в разряде легенд. Артефакты, найденные на месте раскопок, говорят о том, что предполагаемые ходы это не что иное, как кирпично-обжигательные печи. Из так называемого государева кирпича была построена крепость и церковь, что располагалась рядом. Шатровый храм Бориса и Глеба считался самым высоким на Руси.

«Очень красивая, высотой 74 метра. С такими лестницами-сходами вниз, с белокаменными деталями. К сожалению, в XIX веке к памятникам при Николае I относились очень небрежно. Решили разобрать большую церковь, чтобы построить церковь для народа», — рассказывает Борис Янишевский, руководитель Можайской экспедиции Института археологии РАН.

Уже современные местные жители села Борисово мечтают уникальный храм восстановить. Однако в ближайшем будущем планируются только выставки археологических находок. Стрелы, пули, украшения и даже монеты, оставшиеся в земле со времен смуты и медного бунта — всего более 80-ти предметов. Их передадут в местные и столичные музеи.

Информация: www.rosbalt.ru за 15.07.2009 г.

Оставить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *


Можно использовать следующие HTML-теги и атрибуты: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования