Pages Navigation Menu

Travelling in Spain: Camino Lugo—Santiago de Compostela. Part Five

Rainy morning

Rainy morning

In the morning, the whole sky was covered with clouds, and the air was filled with the anticipation of the rain. As we prepared for the journey, we decided not to eat breakfast there, but to have a bite somewhere along the way. Quickly packing our things and preparing ourselves to face the rain, we set off on our way.

Santiago de Compostela was nearly at hand from our hotel – just approximately 19 kilometres away. In this section, Camino Primitivo joins the Road of the French kings,1 and because of the numerous pilgrims and tourists it becomes “affluent.”

Country road

Country road

1(The Road of the French kings — is the main pilgrim route in the north of Spain, stretching for 675.5 kilometres from Pamplona to Santiago de Compostela).

Leaving the hotel behind us, we came to a country road. The road was winding, and crossed a motorway several times. After crossing the motorway again, we mingled with the mentioned unending flow of pilgrims. And if before, we had not practically met anybody, and we were happy to welcome any contact, even with domestic animals, now Camino turned into a crowded stream.

Eucalyptus grove

Eucalyptus grove

A little rain was sprinkling us from time to time on the way, casting us into a meditative mood. When we drew near Monte do Gozo, the rain became stronger and it started to pour down in buckets; but pilgrims are afraid of nothing, and we slowly but steadily approached our destination. The rain is not a frustration to a pilgrim, on the contrary, it is a blessing. On the way to Monte do Gozo we had to walk through a fairy-tale-like grove, where the ancient wide-spreading oak trees are growing, thoroughly covered with moss and lichen; there was a low chain-link fence, separating the grove and the pilgrims’ path from a busy motorway, with improvised crosses, left by the pilgrims, hanging all over the place.

Camino Primitivo

Camino Primitivo

People of all ages and sexes, of all nationalities, were moving on in a ceaseless, endless stream. Some walked faster, while others just trudged on with their canes, but all of them had joyful and inspired faces. On the one hand, we felt sad, because our fascinating journey was nearing its end, but on the other hand, we sensed some ease and freedom, as if, having walked this path, we finally rid ourselves of some heavy burden, that we had been carrying upon us for so long. For many people, especially for the old, their way of Saint James was a real act of heroism.

Fence with improvised crosses of pilgrims Monument to pilgrims

Fence with improvised crosses of pilgrims
Monument to pilgrims

When we entered Monte do Gozo, we headed for the site, where, just like in the days of old, a view of the Cathedral in Santiago de Compostela reveals itself to the weary pilgrims. There is now a monument on this spot in the form of two bronze pilgrims; further away, in a distance, sunk in a grey haze, we saw the spires of Santiago de Compostela Cathedral towering over the horizon, where the resting place of Saint Apostle James is.

Monument to pilgrims

Monument to pilgrims

When we saw the main target of our pilgrimage, we decided to deviate a little from our route, and, following the insistent recommendations of our Spanish companion and guide Andrei, we visited a coastal town called Combarro, where, according to what he had told us, the best seafood dishes are cooked. Combarro and its vicinities deserve to be told about in a separate story.

Cathedral in Santiago de Compostela

Cathedral in Santiago de Compostela

…Santiago de Compostela in the evening welcomed us with its beautiful weather. When we lodged at our hotel, which was almost next to the Cathedral, and said our goodbyes to our accompanying guide Andrei, we decided to have a look at the city at night.

The streets of Santiago de Compostela were filled with people, and from every direction we could hear the exultant and cheerful voices. Some pilgrims were in tears, kneeling down, others were signing Christian hymns and praying. Some amazing energy was emanating from the main square of the Cathedral, and I felt like in just a little while I would ascend above the earth. I experienced something similar, when visiting the Church of the Nativity of Christ at Bethlehem.

Tomb of Saint Apostle James, son of Zebedee

Tomb of Saint Apostle James, son of Zebedee

After we walked in the evening city for a while, we decided to have supper, and our choice fell upon a restaurant at the hotel for pilgrims called Hostal dos Reis Catolicos (Hostel of the Catholic Kings). From 1510 till 1953, pilgrims from the whole world, including the most august persons, found refuge in this masterpiece of the architecture of the past.

During the supper, the decision was made to devote our early morning to the observation of the Cathedral and its relics, and of the sepulchre of Saint James, son of Zebedee, the heavenly defender and patron of Spain.

Early morning in Santiago de Compostela

Early morning in Santiago de Compostela

From the earliest morning, the communal services were preparing the city for a meeting with the new day, thoroughly mopping the streets, watering the flowerbeds, clearing the garbage and fallen leaves away. The Cathedral opened at about eight o’clock, and we were the first visitors.

At first, our guide Slava told us about the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela itself, and about its history; then we looked at its relics that are kept in the Cathedral.

Streets of Santiago de Compostela

Streets of Santiago de Compostela

There is a tradition at the Cathedral, which has its roots going well back into the Middle Ages; here it is, exactly at five o’clock in the afternoon, all the pilgrims, who have arrived, meet in the Cathedral for a special service and offer up their praises to the Lord for empowering them to walk all this journey to the end. Saint Apostle James himself is present at the altar in three different personages: as a nobleman, as a soldier, and as a pilgrim. There are also four statues there, signifying the Four Virtues: Wisdom, Justice, Fortitude, and Temperance.

The Compostela

The Compostela

Most of all, the attendants will remember the ritual, which was carried out with a very original way of burning the incense — with the help of a special silver vessel one meter high. Within this huge censer are the burning coals and frankincense. From the highest point of the Cathedral a thick rope is hanging, to which this censer is fastened. Five husky Galician fishermen start rocking it to and fro with all of their strength. The censer is swishing over the heads of the attendants, spreading the aroma of the burning fragrance. This sight really makes a great impression, especially when this heavy thing gets in full swing. One day, in the distant year of 1622, the fishermen “dropped” the censer, and it crushed down. Fortunately, no one was injured…

After the interesting and thrilling story, we went down into the crypt, which is located under the main altar of the Cathedral, where the silver chest with the remains of Saint James is set. Having spent some time there in silence and meditation, and having prayed to Saint James, we proceeded to the upper section, built over the crypt, where the statue of Saint James is standing, and, following the old tradition, each one of us embraced the Saint’s statue and kissed the scallop, fixed on the back of the Saint.

After fulfilling all the necessary rituals, we came out of the Cathedral and headed for the Chapterhouse of the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela, to the Keeper of the Seal of the Altar of Saint Apostle James, where our pilgrims’ passports (credenciale) were stamped with the final seals of the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela, and we were given the certificates (compostelas), which stated that we devotedly and with Christian sentiments visited this Holiest Temple, and it was the conclusion – the last destination point of our pilgrimage to the tomb of Saint Apostle James, son of Zebedee.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования

Страницы меню навигации

Путешествие по Испании: Камино Луго – Сантьяго-Де-Компостела. Часть пятая.

Дождливое утро

Дождливое утро

Утром все небо было затянуто облаками, а воздух был наполнен предчувствием дождя. Собираясь в дорогу, мы решили не завтракать, а перекусить где-нибудь по пути. Быстро собравшись, и экипировавшись к встрече с дождем, мы отправились в путь.

От нашей гостиницы к Сантьяго-де-Компостела всего рукой подать, приблизительно 19 км. На этом промежутке Камино Примитиво сливается с Дорогой французских королей1 и благодаря паломникам и туристам становится «полноводным».

Проселочная дорога

Проселочная дорога

(1Дорога французских королей — главная паломническая дорога на севере Испании, протягивающаяся на 675,5 км от Памплоны до Сантьяго-де-Компостелы).

Оставив гостиницу позади, мы вышли на проселочную дорогу. Дорога петляла и несколько раз пересекала автомобильное шоссе. Перейдя в очередной раз шоссе, мы влились в тот самый нескончаемый поток паломников. Если раньше нам практически никто не встречался, и мы были рады любому общению, даже с домашними животными, то теперь, Камино превратился в многолюдный поток.

Эвкалиптовая роща

Эвкалиптовая роща

По пути время от времени нас поливал мелкий дождь, склоняя к размышлениям, а при приближении к Monte do Gozo дождь усилился и начал лить «как из ведра», но паломников это не пугает и мы медленно, но верно, двигались к своей конечной цели. Для пилигримов дождь не помеха, а наоборот, благословение. По дороге к Monte do Gozo нам надлежало пройти через сказочную рощу, в которой растут древние раскидистые дубы, сплошь покрытые мхом и лишайниками, а невысокое ограждение из сетки, отделяющее рощу и дорогу паломников от оживленного шоссе, было сплошь увешано импровизированными крестами оставляемыми пилигримами.

Камино Примитиво

Камино Примитиво

Люди всех полов и возрастов, а также национальностей шли непрерывным и нескончаемым потоком. Кто-то быстрей, а кто-то медленно и с палочками, и у всех были радостные и воодушевленные лица. С одной стороны нам было грустно, потому что наше потрясающее путешествие приближалось к концу, а с другой стороны мы чувствовали какую-то легкость и свободу, как будь-то, пройдя этот путь, мы освободились от какой-то ноши, которую мы так долго носили на себе. Для многих людей, особенно пожилых, их Путь Святого Иакова был настоящим подвигом.

Ограждение с импровизированными крестами пилигримов

Ограждение с импровизированными крестами пилигримов

Войдя в Monte do Gozo, мы проследовали к месту, где сейчас, как и раньше, перед уставшими паломниками открывается вид на Собор Сантьяго-де-Компостела. На этом месте сейчас установлен памятник в виде двух бронзовых пилигримов, а вдали, сквозь серую пелену мы увидели возвышающиеся над горизонтом пики Собора Сантьяго-де-Компостела, усыпальницы Святого Апостола Иакова.

Памятник пилигримам

Памятник пилигримам

Увидев нашу главную цель нашего пилигримства, мы решили немного отклонится от нашего маршрута, и, воспользовавшись настоятельными рекомендациями нашего испанского сопровождающего гида Андрея, посетить прибрежный городок Комбарро, где, по его рассказам готовят самые вкусные блюда из морепродуктов. Комбарро и его окрестности заслуживают отдельного рассказа.

Собор Сантьяго-де-Компостела

Собор Сантьяго-де-Компостела

… вечерний Сантьяго-де-Компостела встречал нас прекрасной погодой. Разместившись в гостинице, почти рядом с Собором, и попрощавшись с сопровождающим гидом Андреем, мы решили осмотреть вечерний город.

Улицы Сантьяго-де-Компостела были заполнены людьми и отовсюду слышались ликованье и радостные голоса. Некоторые пилигримы, упав на колени, плакали, а некоторые пели христианские гимны и молились. От главной Соборной площади исходила невообразимая энергетика, и мне показалось, что еще чуть-чуть, и я вознесусь над землей. Подобное я уже переживал, когда посещал Храм Рождества Христова в Вифлиеме.

Усыпальница Святого Апостола Иакова Зеведеева

Усыпальница Святого Апостола Иакова Зеведеева

Немного погуляв по вечернему городу, мы решили поужинать, и наш выбор пал на ресторан при гостинице для паломников Остал де лос Рейес Католикос (Приют католических королей). С 1510 по 1953 годы в этом шедевре архитектуры прошлого находили приют паломники со всего мира, в том числе и августейшие особы.

Во время ужина было принято решение посвятить ранее утро осмотру Собора и его реликвий, а также усыпальницы Святого Иакова Зеведеева, защитника и покровителя Испании.

Утро в Сантьяго-де-Компостела

Утро в Сантьяго-де-Компостела

С самого утра коммунальные службы готовили город к встрече нового дня, тщательно мыли улицы, поливали цветники и убирали мусор и опавшие листья. Собор открылся около 8 утра, и мы были первыми.

Сначала наш гид Слава рассказал нам о самом Кафедральном Соборе Сантьяго-де-Компостела и о его истории, а потом мы осмотрели реликвии, которые хранятся в Соборе.

Улицы Сантьяго-де-Компостела

Улицы Сантьяго-де-Компостела

В Соборе существует традиция уходящая своими корнями к средним векам, так вот, ровно в пять часов пополудни, все прибывшие паломники собираются в Соборе на специальную службу и возносят хвалу Господу за то, что Господь дал им сил пройти весь этот путь до конца. Сам Святой Апостол Иаков представлен у алтаря в трех ипостасях: вельможи, воина и пилигрима. Есть там и четыре статуи, олицетворяющие Благоразумие, Справедливость, Силу и Сдержанность.

Компостела

Компостела

Больше всего присутствующим запоминается ритуал, сопровождающийся весьма оригинальным способом курения благовоний с помощью специального серебряного сосуда метровой высоты. Внутри огромной курильницы — тлеющие угли и ладан. С самой высокой точки собора свешивается толстый канат, к которому прикреплена эта курильница. Пять дюжих галисийских рыбаков начинают что есть силы раскачивать ее туда-сюда. Курильница со свистом пролетает над головами собравшихся, распространяя вокруг аромат тлеющих благовоний. Зрелище, действительно, производит впечатление, особенно когда эта увесистая штука наберет приличную скорость. Однажды, в далеком 1622 году, рыбаки «упустили» курильницу, и она рухнула вниз. К счастью, никто не пострадал…

После интересного и захватывающего рассказа мы спустились в крипту, расположенную под главным алтарем Собора, где установлен серебряный ларец с останками Святого Иакова. Побыв в тишине и размышлениях, а также помолившись Святому Иакову, мы проследовали в верхнюю часть, установленную над криптой, где находится статуя Святого Иакова, и, следуя старой традиции, каждый из нас обнял статую Святого и приобщился к раковине, закрепленной на спине статуи.

После всех обязательных ритуалов мы вышли из Собора и проследовали в офис Капитула Собора Сантьяго-де-Компостела, хранителя печати алтаря Святого Апостола Иакова, где в наши паспорта паломников (креденсиале) были проставлены последние печати Собора Сантьяго-де-Компостела, а также были вручены свидетельства (компостелы), в которых написано, что мы благочестиво и с христианскими чувствами посетили этот Святейший Храм, и это было окончанием, последний точкой нашего пилигримства к могиле Святого Апостола Иакова Зеведеева.

Оставить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *


Можно использовать следующие HTML-теги и атрибуты: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования