Pages Navigation Menu

January 4-11, 2015. Travelling in Jordan

Jordan. Petra

Jordan. Petra

Jordan (the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan) – is a state situated on the north-western tip of Arabian Peninsula in South-West Asia. Jordan is bordered by Syria to the north, Iraq – to the north-east, Saudi Arabia – to the south and east, Israel and Palestinian autonomy – to the west. The country is washed by the waters of the Red Sea, Dead Sea, and Gulf of Aqaba. Close to 90% of its territory is occupied by desert and semi-desert. The country’s capital city is Amman.

The climate in Jordan is sub-tropical Mediterranean with cool winters and hot summers. The highest temperatures’ month is August; the lowest temperatures are in January (sometimes it even snows).

Many unique monuments of history and culture have been preserved in Jordan. The impregnable city-fortress Petra, city Jerash (Eastern Pompeii), Arab castles al-Azraq and Madaba, Caliph’s desert palaces, Moses’ Memorial on Mount Nebo, the site of Jesus Christ’s baptism in Wadi Al-Kharrar and other historical sites mentioned in the Holy Scriptures.

In the programme of the journey:

  • Getting acquainted with the capital of the Kingdom of Jordan, Amman. Visiting Citadel Jabal al-Qal’a, Roman theatre, King Abdullah Mosque, Al-Hussein mosque, tour to the National Archaeological Museum. Visiting the local market;
  • Tour to Petra. Learning about the centuries-long history of Petra and its neighbourhoods. Journey through the Siq Gorge. Visiting the rock temple Ad Deir and the tomb of high priest Aaron;
  • Tour to one of the chief cities of the ancient Decapolis – city of Jerash. Acquaintance with the city of Pella and its ten-thousand-years-long history and the first Christian community, formed in the 1st century by the refuges from Jerusalem;
  • Trip to the city of Madaba. In the Old Testament the city is called Medeba. Madaba is also called the mosaics city because of the fragments of Byzantine mosaics that have been preserved in this city. In the church of Saint George there is a mosaic map of the Holy Land that dates from the 6th century;
  • Visiting Mount Nebo. According to tradition, from this very mountain Moses saw the Good Land of the Promise.
  • Visiting the site of the baptism of Jesus Christ on the Jordan River.
  • Cross-country safari in Wadi Rum Desert;
  • Acquaintance with the town of Wadi Musa and Crusaders’ Castle Kerak.

Following the journey, I will prepare and publish the report and photographs.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования

Страницы меню навигации

4-11 января 2015 года. путешествие по Иордании

Иордания. Петра.

Иордания. Петра.

Иордания (Иорданское Хашимитское Королевство) – государство, расположенное на крайнем северо-западе Аравийского полуострова в Юго-Западной Азии. Иордания граничит с Сирией на севере, Ираком — на северо-востоке, Саудовской Аравией — на востоке и юге, Израилем и Палестинской автономией — на западе. Страна омывается водами Красного моря, Мертвого моря и залива Акаба, около 90 % занимают пустыня и полупустыня. Столица государства — Амман.

Климат в Иордании субтропический средиземноморский с прохладной зимой и жарким летом. Самый жаркий месяц – август, самый холодный – январь (иногда даже выпадает снег).

В Иордании сохранилось множество уникальных памятников истории и культуры. Неприступный город-крепость Петра, город Джераш («Восточные Помпеи»), арабские замки Эль-Азрака и Мадаба, Халифские дворцы пустыни, мемориал Моисея на горе Небо, место крещения Иисуса Христа в Вади-аль-Харрар и другие исторические места упоминаемые в Священном Писании.

В программе путешествия:

  • знакомство со столицей Королевства Иордании городом Амманом. Посещение цитадели Джебель-аль-Калаа, Римского тетра, мечети Короля Абдаллы, мечети Аль-Хусейна, экскурсия в Национальный археологический музей. Посещение местного рынка;
  • экскурсия в город Петру. Знакомство с многовековой историей Петры и ее окрестностей. Поход по ущелью Сик. Посещение скального храма Ад-Дэйр и могилы первосвященника Аарона;
  • экскурсия в один из самых главных городов древнего Десятиградия город Джераш. Знакомство с городом Пелла и с его 10-тысячелетней историей и первой христианской общиной, созданной в I –м веке беженцами из Иерусалима;
  • поездка в город Мадабу. В Ветхом Завете, город носит название Медева. Мадабу еще называют мозаичным городом из-за сохранившихся в этом городе фрагментов мозаики Византийского времени. В церкви Святого Георгия хранится карта Святой Земли VI-го века, выполненная из мозаики;
  • посещение горы Небо. По преданию именно с этой горы Моисей увидел Землю Обетованную.
  • посещение места крещения Иисуса Христа на реке Иордан.
  • сафари на джипе по пустыне Вади Рам;
  • знакомство с городом Вади Муса и крепостью крестоносцев Керак.

По итогам путешествия будет подготовлен и опубликован отчет и фотографии.

Оставить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *


Можно использовать следующие HTML-теги и атрибуты: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования