Pages Navigation Menu

Jerusalem. Tombs of the Kidron Valley. Part one

Kidron Valley. Jerusalem

Kidron Valley. Jerusalem

In Jerusalem, at the foot of the Mount of Olives, a free standing ancient construction known as the Tomb of Absalom rises lonely over the valley of Kidron. The front face of the tomb is set outwardly in the direction of the Temple Mount, while the other three sides are surrounded by a rock in which they are hewn. The construction consists of two parts. The tomb’s height is about fifteen meters. The lower part of the tomb is completely cut from the rock, while the upper one is built upon it with stone blocks. The lower part consists of a foundation up to one and a half meters high and with the length of one rib over seven meters, and of a stepped plinth supporting the walls of the tomb.

Absalom's Tomb in Kidron Valley. Jerusalem

Absalom’s Tomb in Kidron Valley. Jerusalem

The walls of the tomb are decorated with the pilasters in Greek style – two of them on every side, square columns in the corners, adjoined by a quarter-cylindrical column on each side. The upper part of the tomb is built out of large stone blocks joined to one another. Above the square section, the edifice has a round cylinder shape. Over the cylinder part there is a dome in the shape of an elongated cone, on top of which a lotus flower cut from stone is set, hollow from the inside. In the south section of the edifice there is the entrance into the tomb leading to the burial chamber.

Interior View of Absalom's Tomb

Interior View of Absalom’s Tomb

According to the legend, this construction is the tomb of Absalom, one of the sons of king David. Absalom was the third son of king David. Absalom was born in Jericho, his mother was Maachah, the daughter of Talmai, king of Geshur. Although Absalom is not a positive historic figure, still, the story of Absalom is quite informative.

Absalom was the fairest young man in Israel, “From the top of his head to the sole of his foot there was no blemish in him.” He was especially praised for his hair, “When he cut the hair of his head (and it was at the end of every year that he cut it, for it was heavy on him so he cut it), he weighed the hair of his head at 200 shekels by the king’s weight.” Absalom had a beautiful sister named Tamar, and their half-brother Amnon, David’s elder son, conceived a passion for her. Drawing in Tamar to himself by slight, Amnon violated her, after which he drove the disgraced girl away. Wretched Tamar found her refuge in the house of Absalom, where she lived ever since in solitude.

Absalom's Death. Miniature from Manuscript by Jacob van Maerlant. 13th century

Absalom’s Death. Miniature from Manuscript by Jacob van Maerlant. 13th century

When David learned about it, he was very angry, but nevertheless he did not grieve Amnon’s spirit, because he loved him. Absalom hated his half-brother with great hatred and just waited for an opportunity to avenge her, but in the meantime he, “did not speak to Amnon either good or bad,” pretending that he swallowed up the offense. He had the chance presented to him two years later, during the feast of shearing the sheep. Absalom begged his father to allow Amnon to go with him to this feast, and when Amnon got drunk Absalom’s servants by the order of their master struck the guest dead. Fearing his father’s anger, Absalom ran to Geshur, to his grandfather king Tamai and remained there for three years.

David Mourning for Absalom. Engraving by Gustave Doré

David Mourning for Absalom. Engraving by Gustave Doré

David, who loved Absalom, began to miss his son over time, and Joab, commander and David’s nephew noticed it. He convinced the king to return Absalom to Jerusalem, and David made a decision, “He must go to his own house; he must not see my face.” For two years Absalom lived in the capital, but he had no access to the king’s palace. The disfavoured prince sent for Joab several times, but the latter “refused to come.” Having lost his patience, Absalom ordered his servants to burn a field of barley that belonged to Joab. This time indignant Joab immediately arrived to hear from Absalom the following speaking, “Why have I come from Geshur? I want to see the king’s face, and if I am guilty of anything, let him put me to death.” Joab told David Absalom’s words, and soon the father and son were reconciled – Absalom “came in and bowed down with his face to the ground before the king. And the king kissed Absalom.”

Ambitious Absalom was eager to take his father’s throne, for which he had to win the people’s favour. To a great extent his appearance helped him in this, because the women viewed him as a prince from a fairy tale, while the men – as the pride and hope of Israel. Early in the morning, Absalom stood at the city’s gates and drew to himself those who were going to the king’s judgement to convince them that it would be hard for them to find justice with David, but if he, Absalom, were elected the king, he would judge everyone according to justice. Anyone who would come to bow down to him, Absalom embraced and kissed. Thus, winning the popularity and sowing enmity against David, Absalom “stole the hearts of the people of Israel.”

When his father had reigned for forty years, Absalom accompanied by two hundred men went to Hebron under the pretext of making offerings to God to give thanks for his return from exile to Jerusalem. After he came to Hebron, he sent “secret messengers throughout the tribes of Israel,” and soon gathered a large army which announced him the king; after that he marched toward Jerusalem.

David learned of the turmoil too late and, being stricken with terror, he fled from the capital on foot, leaving ten concubines behind “to take care of the palace.” The king was followed by servants and guards, and six hundred faithful men who remained faithful to him under Ittai the Gittite. Jerusalem was also abandoned by priests Zadok and Abiathar who took the Ark of the covenant with them. But David did not remain at a loss for a long time, soon he recovered his composure and started to take action. First of all he told Zadok and Abiathar to bring the ark back to Jerusalem, and to remain in the capital also, and through their sons to inform him of what was happening in the royal palace. Then David sent his close friend and confidant Hushai the Arkite to Jerusalem, charging him to pretend to be a traitor, get Absalom’s trust and frustrate Ahithophel’s advice, who was Absalom’s counsellor, and also to inform David of the insurgents’ plans. And hastily David began to gather an army of his supporters, of whom there were still rather plenty in the country.

Upon entering Jerusalem, Absalom, following Ahithopel’s advice, slept with his father’s concubines, to convince his followers that there was no way for him to turn back, and so, to make them more resolute. Then Ahithophel suggested to the rebellious prince to give him, that is to Ahithophel, twelve thousand men so that he would immediately, on the same night set out in pursuit of David to attack the king, when he was yet weary and weak. “And then all the people with him will flee. I would strike down only the king and bring all the people back to you. The death of the man you seek will mean the return of all; all the people will be unharmed,” – Ahithophel persuaded Absalom. Absalom liked Ahithopel’s advice, but he decided to listen also to Hushai the Arkite, who by that time gained his confidence. Hushai right away realized all the danger of the actions suggested by Ahithophel for David and tried to reassure Absalom. He reminded Absalom that his father was an experienced man, among other things – experienced in a guerrilla war and under the circumstances “he will not spend the night with the troops,” instead, he would hide himself in some cave. And if the king is not captured in the first attack on David’s followers, the people would reckon this as Absalom’s defeat. “Then even the bravest soldier, whose heart is like the heart of a lion, will melt with fear, for all Israel knows that your father is a fighter and that those with him are brave,” – cunning Hushai cautioned Absalom and suggested not to take chances, but march against David only when a huge advantage in numbers would be achieved, “Let all Israel, from Dan to Beersheba—as numerous as the sand on the seashore—be gathered to you, with you yourself leading them into battle. Then we will attack him wherever he may be found, and we will fall on him as dew settles on the ground. Neither he nor any of his men will be left alive. If he withdraws into a city, then all Israel will bring ropes to that city, and we will drag it down to the valley until not so much as a pebble is left.” The cunning eloquence of Hushai the Archite convinced Absalom, and David had a break he needed so desperately to gather his supporters and organize an army.

Before the decisive battle, David commanded his army leaders Joab, Abishai, and Ittai not to kill his rebellious son but to spare his life, “And all the troops heard the king giving orders concerning Absalom to each of the commanders.” The battle took place in the forest of Ephraim close to the Jordan and resulted in the uttermost defeat of the insurgents, who lost twenty thousand men killed. Absalom, trying to save his life by fleeing, carelessly rode under the thick branches of a large oak tree and got his famous hair entangled in them; “He was left hanging in midair, while the mule he was riding kept on going.” It was reported to Joab, who, despite the king’s order, “took three javelins in his hand and plunged them into Absalom’s heart.” Joab’s armour-bearers finished killing Absalom who was still showing signs of life, after which “they took Absalom, threw him into a big pit in the forest and piled up a large heap of rocks over him.”

Absalom had three sons and one daughter named Tamar; she was a beautiful woman and became a wife of Rehoboam, Solomon’s son, and gave birth to his son Abijah. At the same time, Absalom still in his lifetime set a monument for himself in the Kings’ valley; because he said, “I have no son to preserve my name.” Apparently, Absalom’s sons died well before their father. Apart from that, Absalom’s daughter named Maacah is also mentioned as Abijah’s mother and Rehoboam’s wife; and the mother of Asa, Abijah’s son, was Absalom’s daughter named Ana or Maacah.

In this article the materials were used from the book by A. P. Kondrashov “Who is Who in the Bible: Popular Encyclopaedic Dictionary,” Moscow. RIPOLL classics, 2004.   

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования

Страницы меню навигации

Иерусалим. Гробницы Кедронской долины. Часть первая

Кедронская долина. Иерусалим

Кедронская долина. Иерусалим

В Иерусалиме, у подножия Масличной горы, в Кедронской долине одиноко возвышается отдельно стоящее древнее сооружение, называемое гробницей Авессалома. Передняя часть гробницы смотрит наружу в сторону Храмовой горы, а остальные три стороны окружены скалой, из которой они высечены. Сооружение состоит из двух частей. Высота гробницы около  пятнадцати  метров. Нижняя часть  гробницы полностью высечена из скалы, а верхняя —  достроена из каменных блоков. Нижняя часть  состоит из фундамента, высотой до полутора метров и с длиной ребра более семи метров, а также из ступенчатого цоколя, на котором стоят стены гробницы.

Гробница Авессалома в Кедронской долине. Иерусалиам.

Гробница Авессалома в Кедронской долине. Иерусалим.

Стены гробницы украшены пилястрами в греческом стиле, по два с каждой стороны, квадратными колоннами по углам, к которым прилегают по четверти цилиндрической колонны с каждой стороны. Верхняя часть гробницы построена из больших каменных блоков соединенных между собою. Над квадратной частью, сооружение принимает круглую цилиндрическую форму. Над цилиндрической частью находится купол, который имеет форму вытянутого конуса, на вершине которого установлен вырезанный из камня цветок лотоса полый внутри. В южной части сооружения находится вход в гробницу и в погребальную камеру.

Внутренний вид гробницы Авессалома

Внутренний вид гробницы Авессалома

По легенде это сооружение является гробницей  Авессалома, одного из сыновей царя Давида.  Авессалом был третьим сыном царя Давида. Родился Авессалом в Иерихоне, матерью его была Мааха, дочь гессурского царя Фалмая.  Авессалом не является положительным историческим персонажем, но,  тем не менее,  история Авессалома является поучительной.

Авессалом был самым красивым мужчиной в Израиле, «от подошвы ног до верха головы его не было у него недостатка». Особенно славился он своими волосами: «когда он стриг голову свою, — а он стриг ее каждый год, — то волосы с его головы весили двести сиклей по весу царскому». У Авессалома была красивая родная сестра  по имени Фамарь, к которой воспылал страстью  их сводный брат Амнон, старший сын Давида.  Заманив Фамарь к себе хитростью, Амнон силой овладел ею, после чего выгнал обесчещенную девушку. Несчастная Фамарь нашла приют в доме

Смерть Авессалома. Миниатюра из манускрипта Якоба ван Марланта, 13 век.

Смерть Авессалома. Миниатюра из манускрипта Якоба ван Марланта, 13 век.

Авессалома, где затем жила в одиночестве. Узнавший о случившемся Давид  хотя  и сильно разгневался, но «не опечалил духа Амнона… ибо любил его». Авессалом же возненавидел сводного брата лютой ненавистью и лишь выжидал удобного случая для мести, а тем временем «не говорил с Амноном ни худого, ни хорошего», делая вид, что проглотил обиду. Такой случай представился спустя два года, во время праздника стрижки овец. Авессалом упросил Давида отпустить к нему на этот праздник Амнона, и во время пира слуги Авессалома по приказу своего хозяина убили гостя.  Страшась отцовского гнева, Авессалом бежал в Гессур к своему деду царю Фалмаю и пробыл там три года.

Давид, оплакивающий Авессалома. Гравюра Гюстава Доре

Давид, оплакивающий Авессалома. Гравюра Гюстава Доре

Давид, любивший Авессалома, со временем стал тосковать по сыну, что заметил Иоав, полководец и племянник Давида.  Он убедил царя вернуть Авессалома в Иерусалим, и Давид принял решение: «Пусть он возвратится в дом свой, а лица моего не видит». В течение двух лет Авессалом жил в столице, однако в царский дворец доступа не имел.  Опальный царевич несколько раз посылал за Иоавом, «но тот не захотел придти». Потеряв терпение, Авессалом приказал своим слугам сжечь принадлежавший Иоаву участок поля, засеянный ячменем. На этот раз разгневанный Иоав немедленно прибыл, чтобы услышать от Авессалома: «Зачем я пришел из Гессура? Я хочу увидеть лицо царя. Если же я виноват, то убей меня».  Иоав передал Давиду слова Авессалома, и вскоре состоялось применение между отцом и сыном: Авессалом «пришел к царю, и пал лицом своим на землю перед царем; и поцеловал царь Авессалома».

Честолюбивому Авесаалому не терпелось занять престол отца, для чего ему надо было завоевать расположение народа.  Этому в значительной мере способствовала его внешность, благодаря которой для женщин он был царевичем из сказки, а для мужчин – гордостью и надеждой Израиля. Рано утром Авессалом становился у городских ворот и подзывал к себе шедших к царю на суд, убеждая их, что у Давида им будет трудно найти справедливость, но если бы царем поставили его, Авессалома, то он каждого судил бы по правде. Любого, кто подходил поклониться ему, Авессалом обнимал и целовал. Так, завоевывая популярность и одновременно сея неприязнь к Давиду, «вкрадывался авессалом в сердце Израильтян».

По прошествии сорока лет царствования отца,  Авессалом,  в сопровождении двухсот человек отправился в Хеврон, якобы принести жертву Богу в благодарность за возвращение из изгнания в Иерусалим. Прибыв в Хеврон, он «разослал лазутчиков во все колена Израилевы» и вскоре собрал многочисленное войско, которое провозгласило его царем, после чего он двинулся на Иерусалим.

Слишком поздно узнавший о мятеже Давид в панике пешком покинул столицу, оставив десять наложниц «для хранения дома».  Царя сопровождали слуги и телохранители, а также отряд преданных ему воинов в количестве шестисот человек во главе с Еффееем Гефянином. Иерусалим оставили также и священники Садок и Авиафар, взявшие с собою ковчег завета. Однако в растерянности Давид пребывал не долго и вскоре к нему  вернулось присутствие духа и он начал действовать.  Первым делом он сказал Садоку и Авиафару вернуть ковчег в Иерусалим, а им тоже оставаться в столице и через своих сыновей сообщать ему о происходящем в царском дворце. Затем Давид отправил в Иерусалим своего близкого друга и советника Хусия Архитянина, велев ему претворится предателем, войти в доверие Авессалому и противодействовать Ахитофелу, советнику Авессалома, а также сообщать ему, Давиду, о планах мятежников. И начал срочно собирать войско из своих сторонников, которых в стране оставалось еще достаточно  много.

Вступив в Иерусалим, Авессалом по совету Ахитофела «вошел к наложницам отца своего», дабы убедить своих сторонников, что для него обратного пути нет, и тем укрепить их решимость. Далее Ахитофел предложил мятежному царевичу выделить ему, Ахитофелу, отряд в двадцать тысяч человек, чтобы срочно, в ту же ночь, отправиться в погоню за Давидом,  и напасть на царя, «когда он будет утомлен и с опущенными руками». «И все люди, которые с ним, разбегутся; и я убью одного царя и всех людей обращу к тебе; и когда не будет ни одного, душу которого ты ищешь, тогда весь народ будет в мире», — убеждал Авессалома Ахитофел.  Авессалому понравился совет Ахитофела, однако он решил послушать и Хусия Архитянина, который к этому времени уже вошел в его доверие. Хусий сразу понял всю опасность для Давида предложенных Ахитофеллом действий и постарался переубедить Авессалома. Он напомнил Авессалому, что отец его – человек опытный, в том числе и в партизанской войне и в сложившейся обстановке «не остановится ночевать с народом», а затаится в какой-нибудь пещере. Если при первом нападении на сторонников Давида схватить царя не удастся, то люди расценят это как поражения Авессалома. «Тогда самый храбрый, у которого сердце, как сердце львиное, упадет духом; ибо всему Израилю известно, как храбр отец твой и мужественны те, которые с ним», — предостерег Авессалома хитроумный Хусий и предложил не рисковать, а выступить против Давида лишь после того, как будет обеспечено огромное количественное превосходительство: «Пусть соберется к тебе весь Израиль, от Дана до Вирсавии, во множестве, как песок при море, и ты сам пойдешь посреди его; и тогда мы пойдем против него, в каком бы месте он не находился, и нападем на него, как падает роса на землю; и не останется у него не одного человека из всех,  которые с ним; а если он войдет в какой-либо город, то весь Израиль принесет к тому городу веревки, и мы стащим его в реку, так что не останется ни одного камешка».  Коварное красноречие Хусия Архитянина убедило Авессалома, и Давид получил столь необходимую ему передышку, чтобы собрать своих сторонников и организовать войско.

Перед решающим сражением Давид приказал своим полководцам Иоаву, Авессе и Еффею не убивать его мятежного сына, а сберечь ему жизнь – и «все люди слышали, как приказал царь всем начальникам об Авессаломе». Сражение это состоялось в лесу Ефремовом вблизи Иордана и окончилось полным разгромом мятежников, потерявших убитыми двадцать тысяч человек. Пытавшийся спастись бегством Авессалом неосмотрительно въехал под ветви большого дуба и запутался в них своими знаменитыми волосами; он «повис между небом и землею, а мул, бывший под ним, убежал». Об этом доложили Иоаву, который, вопреки приказу царя, «взял в руки три стрелы и вонзил их в сердце Авессалому». Оруженосцы Иоава добили еще подававшего признаки жизни Авессалома, после чего «бросили его в лесу в глубокую яму, и наметали над ним огромную кучу камней».

У Авессалома было три сына и одна дочь по имени Фамарь, она была женщина красивая и сделалась женою Ровоама, сына Соломонова, и родила ему Авию. Вместе с тем Авессалом еще при жизни своей взял и поставил себе памятник  в царской долине; ибо сказал он: нет у меня сына, чтобы сохранилась память имени моего. По-видимому,  сыновья Авессалома умерли значительно раньше своего отца. Кроме того, матерью Авии и женою Ровоама также называют дочь Авессалома по имени Мааха, а матерью Асы, сына Авии – дочь Авессалома по имени Ана или Мааха.

В статье использовались материалы из книги А.П. Кондрашова «Кто есть кто в Библии: Популярный энциклопедический словарь», М. РИПОЛЛ классик, 2004.            

Оставить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *


Можно использовать следующие HTML-теги и атрибуты: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования