Pages Navigation Menu

Jerusalem. Tombs of the Kidron Valley. Part two

King Jehoshaphat. Engraving from the collection of biographies Promptuarii Iconum Insigniorum (1553)

King Jehoshaphat. Engraving from the collection of biographies Promptuarii Iconum Insigniorum (1553)

Behind Absalom’s tomb there is a cave, hewn in the rock, dating back to the same period as the tomb of Absalom. The entrance to the tomb is decorated with a beautifully chiselled portico. According to tradition, this cave is the burial site of King Jehoshaphat , although in the Bible it says, “Then Jehoshaphat rested with his ancestors and was buried with them in the city of David his father.” (1 Kings 22:50). Perhaps, this tradition came into being because this part of the Kidron Valley from the days of old was called the valley of Jehoshaphat, and it is related to the prophesy of Joel, “I will also gather all nations, and will bring them down into the valley of Jehoshaphat, and will plead with them there for My people and for My heritage Israel, whom they have scattered among the nations, and parted My land.” (Joel 3:2). The name Jehoshaphat in Hebrew means the Lord Judge. Therefore, the traditions of all three religions: Judaism, Christianity, and Islam agree that this place at the end of days will be the site of the Last Judgement.

King Jehoshaphat's Tomb (behind the Tomb of Absalom)

King Jehoshaphat’s Tomb (behind the Tomb of Absalom)

Jehoshaphat was the fourth king of Judah, the son of king Asa and his wife Azubah, who ascended to the throne in Jerusalem at the age of thirty and reigned for twenty five years, the contemporary of three kings of Israel – Ahab, Ahaziah, and Jehoram.

King Jehoshaphat was a worthy imitator of the works of his father, and became known for his righteousness, wisdom, and diligence. He fervently kept his ancestors’ faithfulness to God and fought with idolatry – destroyed pagan idols, high places, and Asherah poles in his kingdom, and “the remnant of the sodomites, which remained in the days of his father Asa, he took out of the land.” In the third year of his reign, Jehoshaphat sent out a group of his officials, priests, and Levites, and “they taught throughout Judah, taking with them the Book of the Law of the Lord; they went around to all the towns of Judah and taught the people.” For these righteous deeds, “the Lord established the kingdom under his control; and all Judah brought gifts to Jehoshaphat, so that he had great wealth and honour.”

Kidron's riverbed between Temple Mount and Mount of Olives

Kidron’s riverbed between Temple Mount and Mount of Olives

Jehoshaphat paid great attention to enforcing justice in his country. “He appointed judges in the land, in each of the fortified cities of Judah. He told them, “Consider carefully what you do, because you are not judging for mere mortals but for the Lord, who is with you whenever you give a verdict. Now let the fear of the Lord be on you. Judge carefully, for with the Lord our God there is no injustice or partiality or bribery.” In Jerusalem also, Jehoshaphat appointed some of the Levites, priests and heads of Israelite families to administer the law of the Lord and to settle disputes… He gave them these orders: “You must serve faithfully and wholeheartedly in the fear of the Lord. In every case that comes before you from your people who live in the cities—whether bloodshed or other concerns of the law, commands, decrees or regulations—you are to warn them not to sin against the Lord; otherwise His wrath will come on you and your people. Do this, and you will not sin.” The justice in religious affairs Jehoshaphat commissioned to high priest Amariah, and in secular, civil matters – to prince Zebadiah.

Destruction of Ammonite and Moabite Armies. Engraving by Gustave Doré

Destruction of Ammonite and Moabite Armies. Engraving by Gustave Doré

Jehoshaphat considered one of his main tasks to strengthen the defence capability of the Kingdom of Judah. Right after his enthronement, “He stationed troops in all the fortified cities of Judah and put garrisons in Judah and in the towns of Ephraim that his father Asa had captured.” Providing everything needful for his quite significant army, Jehoshaphat “built forts and store cities in Judah,” and he “built a fleet of trading ships to go to Ophir for gold” (according to another version – to go to Tarshish, an ancient city on the coast of Spain), but these ships were wrecked by a storm. Jehoshaphat’s efforts did not go in vain. “The fear of the Lord fell on all the kingdoms of the lands surrounding Judah, so that they did not go to war against Jehoshaphat. Some Philistines brought Jehoshaphat gifts and silver as tribute, and the Arabs brought him flocks: seven thousand seven hundred rams and seven thousand seven hundred goats.”

While preparing for war, actually Jehoshaphat did not seek it. Unlike his father Asa, who was at war with the kingdom of Israel, Jehoshaphat not only made peace with the Israelites, but established family relationships with the king of Israel – married his eldest son Jehoram to Ahab’s daughter Athaliah. Jehoshaphat even tried to help Ahab to take Ramoth Gilead from Syrians, fighting for which Ahab was killed; and Jehoshaphat himself, mistaken by Syrians for the king of Israel they hated so much, barely escaped. Together with Jehoram, Ahab’s son, Jehoshaphat  participated in a punitive expedition against the Moabite king Mesha, who “seceded” from Israelites after Ahab’s death. Jehoshaphat’s cooperation with the wicked kings of Israel even provoked the wrath of God, concerning which Jehu the seer informed the king of Judah; but this sin of Jehoshaphat was forgiven for his uncompromising struggle against the idol worship.

When the combined forces of the Ammonites, Moabites, and men from Mount Seir came to wage war against the kingdom of Judah, “Alarmed, Jehoshaphat resolved to inquire of the Lord, and he proclaimed a fast for all Judah,” and then he gathered his subjects in the Jerusalem Temple to seek help from the God of their fathers. During the gathering, the Spirit of the Lord came on Levite Jahaziel, and he declared that they should not be afraid of the enemy, for God would grant the Jews victory over them without fighting a battle. In the morning, Jehoshaphat led his army against the enemy, and in front of it there were the Levite singers, who praised their God. “As they began to sing and praise, the Lord caused strife between the men of Ammon and Moab and Mount Seir who were invading Judah, and they were defeated. The Ammonites and Moabites rose up against the men from Mount Seir to destroy and annihilate them. After they finished slaughtering the men from Seir, they helped to destroy one another. When the men of Judah came to the place that overlooks the desert and looked toward the vast army, they saw only dead bodies lying on the ground; no one had escaped.” As they went down to the battlefield, the Jews “found a great amount of equipment and clothing and also articles of value—more than they could take away.” After this miraculous victory, no one dared to wage war against Jehoshaphat.

Jehoshaphat had seven sons. The eldest son among them, Jehoram was proclaimed the heir, and to his brothers Jehoshaphat “had given many gifts of silver and gold and articles of value, as well as fortified cities in Judah.” After Jehoshaphat’s death, Jehoram took the throne and “put all his brothers to the sword.”

This article uses the materials from the book by A. P. Kondrashov Who is who in the Bible: Popular Encyclopaedic Dictionary, RIPOLL classic, 2004.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования

Страницы меню навигации

Иерусалим. Гробницы Кедронской долины. Часть вторая

Царь Иосафат. Гравюра из сборника биографий Promptuarii Iconum Insigniorum (1553 г.)

Царь Иосафат. Гравюра из сборника биографий Promptuarii Iconum Insigniorum (1553 г.)

Позади гробницы  Авессалома есть пещера, высеченная в скале и относящаяся к тому же периоду, что и гробница Авессалома, вход в пещеру украшает красиво высеченный портик.  Согласно традиции эта пещера является местом захоронения царя Иосафата, хотя в Библии написано: «И почил Иосафат с отцами своими, и был погребен с отцами своими в городе Давида, отца своего» (3-я книга  Царств 22:50). Традиция эта возникла, по-видимому, из-за того, что эта часть Кедронской долины с незапамятных времен называлась долиной Иосафата, и связана она с пророчеством пророка Иоиля: «Я соберу все народы и приведу их в долину Иосафата и там произведу над ними суд за народ Мой и за наследие Мое, Израиля, который они рассеяли между народами, и землю мою разделили  (книга Иоиля 3:2). Само слово «Иосафат» на иврите означает Господь Судья. Поэтому традиции всех трех религий: иудаизма, христианства и ислама сходятся на том, что это место в конце дней будет местом Страшного Суда.

Гробница царя Иосафата (за гробницей Авессалома)

Гробница царя Иосафата (за гробницей Авессалома)

Иосафат – четвертый иудейский царь, сын царя Асы и его жены Азувы, вступивший на престол в Иерусалиме в тридцатилетнем возрасте и правивший в течение двадцати пяти лет, современник трех израильских царей – Ахава, Охозии и Иорама.

Царь Иосафат был достойным подражателем деяний своего отца  и отличился праведностью, мудростью и трудолюбием. Он свято хранил верность Богу своих предков и боролся с идолопоклонством – уничтожил языческие кумиры, священные высоты и рощи в своем царстве, а также «остатки блудников, которые оставались во дни отца его Асы, он истребил с земли». На третьем году своего  царствования  Иосафат послал группу князей, священников и левитов, чтобы те «учили в Иудее, имея с собою книгу закона Господня; и обходили все города Иудеи  и учили народ». За эти благочестивые дела «утвердил Господь царство в руке его, и давали все иудеи дары Иосафату, и было у него много богатства и славы».

Русло Кедрона между Храмовой и Масличной горами

Русло Кедрона между Храмовой и Масличной горами

Большое внимание Иосафат уделял укреплению правосудию в своей стране. «И поставил судей по всем укрепленным городам Иудеи в каждом городе, и сказал судьям : смотрите, что вы делаете, вы творите не суд человеческий, но суд Господа; и Он с вами в деле суда. Итак да будет страх Господень на вас: действуйте осмотрительно, ибо нет у Господа Бога нашего неправды, ни лицеприятия, ни мздоимства. И в Иерусалиме приставил Иосафат некоторых из левитов и священников и глав поколений у Израиля – к суду Господню  и к тяжбам… И дал им повеление, говоря: так действуйте в страхе Господнем, с верностью и с чистым сердцем: во всяком деле спорном, какое поступит к вам от братьев ваших, живущих в городах своих, о кровопролитии ли, или о законе, заповеди, уставах и обрядах, наставляйте их, чтобы они не провинились перед Господом, и не было бы гнева Его на вас и на братьях ваших; так действуйте, — и вы не погрешите».  Руководство правосудием в религиозных делах Иосафат возложил на первосвященника Амарию, а в делах светских, гражданских – на князя Зевадию.

Истребление армий аммонитян и моавитян. Гравюра Гюстава Доре

Истребление армий аммонитян и моавитян. Гравюра Гюстава Доре

Одной из главных своих задач Иосафат считал укрепление обороноспособности  Иудейского царства. Сразу после воцарения «поставил он войско во все укрепленные города Иудеи и расставил охранное войско по земле  Иудейской и по городам Ефремовым, которыми овладел Аса, отец его». Обеспечивая всем необходимым свою весьма значительную армию, Иосафат «построил в Иудее крепости и города для запасов», а также «сделал корабли на море, чтобы ходить в Офир за золотом» (по другой версии – для отправления в Фарсис, древний город на юге Испании), но эти корабли были разбиты бурей. Усилия Иосафата  не прошли даром. «И был страх Господень на всех царствах земель, которые вокруг Иудеи, и не воевали с Иосафатом. А от филистимлян приносили Иосафату дары и в дань серебро; также аравитяне пригоняли к нему мелкий скот: овнов семь тысяч семьсот и козлов семь тысяч семьсот».

Готовясь к войне, Иосафат вовсе к ней не стремился. В отличие от своего отца Асы, враждовавшим с Израильским царством, Иосафат не только заключил с израильтянами мир,  но и породнился с израильским царем – женил своего старшего сына Иорама на Гофолии, дочери Ахава. Иосафат даже пытался помочь Ахаву захватить у смрийцев Гамоф Галаадский, в битве за который Ахав погиб, а Иосафат, принятый было сирийцами  за ненавистного им израильского царя, едва унес ноги. Вместе с Иорамом, сыном Ахава, Иосафат участвовал в карательной экспедиции против моавитского царя Месы, «отложившегося» от израильтян после гибели Ахава. Сотрудничество Иосафата с нечестивыми израильскими царями даже вызвало гнев Божий, о чем иудейскому царю сообщил прозорливец Ииуй, но этот грех был прощен Иосафату за его бескомпромиссную борьбу с идолопоклонством.

Когда против Иудейского царства совместно выступили аммонитяне, моавитяне и жители горы Сеир, «убоялся Иосафат, и обратил лицо свое чтобы взыскать Господа, и объявил пост по всей Иудее», а затем собрал подданных в иерусалимском храме, чтобы молить о помощи Бога своих предков. Во время собрания на левита Иозиила «сошел Дух Господен», и он заявил, что не нужно опасаться врага, ибо Бог дарует евреям победу над ними без сражения.  Утром Иосафат вывел навстречу врагу войско, впереди которого шли певцы-левиты, славя своего Бога. «И в то время, как они стали восклицать и славословить, Господь возбудил несогласие между аммонитянами, моавитянами и жителями горы Сеир, пришедших на Иудею, и были они поражены: ибо восстали аммонитяне и моавитяне на жителей горы Сеир, побивая и истребляя их, а когда покончили с жителями Сеира, тогда стали истреблять друг друга. И когда иудеи пришли на возвышенность к пустыне и взглянули на то многолюдство, и вот – трупы, лежащие на земле, и нет уцелевшего».  Спустившись на поле боя, иудеи обнаружили «во множестве и имущество, и одежды, и драгоценные вещи, и набрали себе столько, что не могли нести». После этой чудесной победы воевать с Иосафатом уже никто не рисковал.

У Иосафата было семь сыновей. Наследником объявлен был старший из них, Иорам, а его братьям Иосафат дал «большие подарки серебром и золотом и драгоценностями, вместе с укрепленными городами в Иудее». После смерти Иосафата иерусалимский престол занял Иорам и, утвердившись на нем, «умертвил всех братьев своих мечем».

В статье использовались материалы из книги А.П. Кондрашова «Кто есть кто в Библии: Популярный энциклопедический словарь», М. РИПОЛЛ классик, 2004.

Оставить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *


Можно использовать следующие HTML-теги и атрибуты: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Яндекс.Метрика Индекс цитирования